The University Record, April 2, 2001


2 Taubman CAUP faculty honored

Two Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning (CAUP) faculty members received awards in March at the National Conference of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. Brian Carter, professor of architecture and chair, Architecture Program, received the Creative Achievement Award in recognition of his initiation of the Michigan Architecture Papers, an award-winning series of publications based on lectures by visiting architects. Robert Levit, assistant professor of architecture, received a Faculty Design Award for his proposals for urban housing in Detroit.

DeLancey receives NAFC award

John DeLancey, the Norman F. Miller Professor of Gynecology, received the first Uro-Gynecologist of the Year award from the National Association for Continence (NAFC), formerly known as Help for Incontinent People. NAFC is a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of life for people with incontinence.

Gerontological Society honors Halter

Jeffrey B. Halter, professor of internal medicine, chief of medical geriatrics and director of the Geriatrics Center, has received the Donald P. Kent Award from the Gerontological Society of America. This award is given annually to a member of the society who exemplifies the highest standards for professional leadership in gerontology through teaching, service and interpretation of gerontology.

Kuhl receives Einstein Society award

David E. Kuhl, professor of radiology, received the Honorary Lifetime Membership Award of the Einstein Society at the recent annual meeting of the National Atomic Museum Foundation in Albuquerque, N.M. He was cited for outstanding contributions to the advancement and understanding of nuclear science.

Pearlman appointed committee chair

Mark Pearlman, vice chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology, has been appointed chair of the National Quality Assurance Committee for the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Pearlman has been a member of the committee for three years and serves as vice chair for the group. He also has been appointed to several advisory groups to determine appropriate national means of quality performance measures for obstetrics.

Craft Council honors two art faculty

Husband-and-wife team Hiroko Sato-Pijanowski and Eugene Pijanowski, professors of art, have been admitted to the American Craft Council’s College of Fellows. Induction into the College of Fellows recognizes individuals working at least 25 years in their respective fields who have made major contributions to the crafts. The Pijanowskis were cited for their work with metals.

Trepanier-Street given Anthony honor

Mary Trepanier-Street, professor of early childhood education and coordinator of the Early Childhood Teacher Education Program at U-M-Dearborn, has received the 23rd annual Susan B. Anthony Award. The honor recognizes campus staff, faculty and students who have made a significant contribution to gender equity.

Weigel is Employee of the Month

Kathy Weigel, clinical nurse, Perinatal Nursing, Women’s Hospital Birthing Center, was honored as the Health System Employee of the Month for February. A reception was held in her honor on March 28 at Mott Hospital.