The University Record, April 16, 2001


Saxonhouse appointed visiting scholar

Arlene W. Saxonhouse, professor of political science and of women’s studies, has been appointed a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar for 2001–02. The Visiting Scholars travel to colleges and universities with Phi Beta Kappa chapters, spending two days on each campus. They meet with undergraduates, participate in lectures and seminars, and deliver a major address to the entire academic community.

Sholder receives staff award

Katherine Sholder, program coordinator in the School of Social Work’s Project STaR, has received the School’s winter 2001 Staff Recognition Award. She was cited for her outstanding performance, integrity and commitment to Project STaR students.

Townsend receives research award

Leroy B. Townsend, professor emeritus of chemistry and of medicinal chemistry, will receive the Volwiler Research Achievement Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy at the group’s annual meeting July 10 in Toronto. He is being honored for his research and discoveries in the field of nucleosides. The award carries a $12,500 honorarium.

Ball, Lawrence get AERA posts

Deborah Ball, Thurnau Professor and professor of education, has been selected as a member at large, and Jan Lawrence, associate professor of education and assistant research scientist, Center for Research on Learning and Teaching, has been selected as vice president for Division J (Postsecondary Education) of the board of the American Educational Research Association (AERA).

Delvecchio to receive honorary degree

Angela Delvecchio, associate professor emerita of nursing, will receive an honorary doctor of science degree from Purdue University at 7:30 p.m. May 8 during ceremonies in the Chapel of the Resurrection, Valparaiso University.

Fishman receives Hawkins Award

Barry Fishman, assistant professor of education, has received the Jan Hawkins Award, which is sponsored by Division C (Learning and Instruction) of the American Educational Research Association. The award recognizes work that examines the relationship between technology and educational research while critically analyzing the appropriate role for technology in learning and education.

HUD cites urban planning faculty

Jonathan Levine, associate professor of urban planning; Aseem Inam, assistant professor of urban planning; and Ph.D. student Gwo-Wei Torng have received the first Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Excellence in Urban Policy Award for their paper titled “Innovation in Transportation and Land Use as Expansion of Household Choice.” HUD recognized six faculty and three students nationwide for their superior urban policy scholarship in papers presented at the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning’s annual conference last November in Atlanta. Winners were announced in March.

Megginson honored on Wall of Fame

Robert E. Megginson, professor of mathematics, has been honored with a place on the Native American Science and Mathematics Wall of Fame. The site is maintained at the Southwest Indian Polytechnic Institute in Albuquerque to recognize Native Americans whose careers have made significant contributions to their fields of study and to the advancement of other Native Americans in science and mathematics.