The University Record, January 29, 2001

Committees explore joint LS&A, SNRE environmental studies concentration

By Julie Peterson
Office of the Vice President for Communications

Two committees have been established by Barry Rabe, interim dean of the School of Natural Resources and Environment (SNRE), and Shirley Neuman, dean of LS&A, as the next step in a proposal to create a new concentration in environmental sciences/studies to be jointly operated by LS&A and SNRE.

The Curriculum Implementation Committee has been asked to consider academic issues including a core curriculum, a process for course development and approval, the role of graduate students in teaching, ways to create a central role for field studies and internships, and the transition of students from existing programs into the new joint degree program.

Committee members are: John Knott, professor of English language and literature, chair; Catherine Badgley, associate research scientist in geological sciences and lecturer, Museum of Paleontology and the Residential College; James Diana, professor and associate dean, SNRE; Sandra Gregerman, director of the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program, LS&A; Gloria Helfand, associate professor, SNRE; Elizabeth Hill, student services assistant, SNRE; Jonathan Kazmierski, graduate student in SNRE; Bobbi Low, professor, SNRE; Stephen Salant, professor of economics; James Teeri, professor of biology and director of the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and the U-M Biological Station; Ben van der Pluijm, professor of geological sciences and director of the Global Change Project; and Paul Webb, professor of biology and of natural resources.

The Governance and Structure Committee has been asked to look at creation of a joint governance process that features strong faculty leadership and diverse input from faculty, staff and students; reporting mechanisms and processes for reviewing program performance; best uses of the renovated Dana Building and related University facilities and properties; and links to related U-M units.

Co-chairs are James Diana and Bob Owen, associate dean for undergraduate education in LS&A. Other members are: Knott; Marie Logan, assistant to the dean of SNRE; Patti Myers Kardia, interim director of academic services, SNRE; Peggy Norgren, assistant dean for planning and operations, LS&A; and Esrold Nurse, assistant dean for student academic affairs, LS&A.

The committees have been asked to issue their reports to Deans Neuman and Rabe by April 30. Both units will begin a full review of the recommendations in fall 2001.