The University Record, June 18, 2001


CASE honors Duderstadt

The Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) will present James Duderstadt, president emeritus and professor of science and engineering, with the Alice L. Beeman Outstanding Published Scholarship award for his book, A University for the 21st Century. The award will be presented July 1 at the CASE International Assembly in San Fransisco. In his book, Duderstadt analyzes the challenges and opportunities facing higher education in the 21th century.

Rivera-Rule elected to national board

Alexandra Rivera-Rule, executive secretary for the associate director for public services at the University Library, has been elected to serve on the board of directors of the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking as member at large representative.

Rivera-Rule currently serves as chair of the University Library Diversity Committee and has participated in the Institute for the Healing of Racism.

Baker chosen as principal investigator

Wayne Baker, professor of organizational behavior and human resource management, has been chosen as the principal investigator for the Detroit Area Study (DAS), 2002–03. The DAS is an annual survey of a representative sample of residents from the Detroit region. The data collected can be useful to public policy-makers in assessing social and physical changes in the region.

Management academy honors Dutton

Jane Dutton, the William Russell Kelly Professor of Business Administration; professor of business; and associate professor of psychology, has received the Organization and Management Theory Distinguished Scholar Award from the National Academy of Management. The award was granted for her article writing.

Krishnan earns new appointment

Mayuram Krishnan, associate professor of computer and information systems, has been appointed associate editor of Management Science and Information Systems Research, a renowned journal in the field of computer and information systems.

Mitchell, Talbot win award

William Mitchell, the Jack D. Sparks-Whirlpool Corp. Research Professor of Business Administration and professor of corporate strategy and international business, and Frederick “Brian” Talbot, the Keith E. and Valerie J. Alessi Professor of Business Administration, professor of operations management and associate dean of the School of Business, have been awarded the Stan Hardy Award for their paper, “The Impact of New Manufacturing Requirements on Production Line Productivity and Quality at a Focused Factory.” This award recognizes the best organization management paper published in the Journal of Operations Management and Decision Sciences for the year.

Olegario receives honor

Rowena Olegario, visiting professor of law, history and communications at the School of Business, has been awarded the Newcomen-Harvard prize for the best article published in Business History Review. Olegario’s article is titled “That Mysterious People: Jewish Merchants, Transparency and Community in Mid-Nineteenth Century America.”