The University Record, May 7, 2001


Porter receives prize for musicianship

Amy Porter, associate professor of music (flute), was awarded the Alphonse Leduc Prize for outstanding musicianship in the recent Paris/Ville d’Avray International Flute Competition. In addition, judges decided to split the competition’s three major cash awards between Porter and the other finalist.

6 receive Sloan Research Fellowships

The following six faculty have received Sloan Research Fellowships: Sugih Jamin and Steven K. Reinhardt, both assistant professors of electrical engineering and computer science; Brian Conrad, assistant professor of mathematics; Christopher M. Skinner, associate professor of mathematics; Carolina Lithgow-Bertelloni, assistant professor of geological sciences; and Jens-Christian Meiners, visiting assistant professor of physics and visiting assistant research scientist, Biophysics Research Division.

The Sloan Fellowships support young researchers. Under the program, grants of $40,000 for a two-year period are administered by each Fellow’s institution. Fellows are free to pursue whatever areas of research interest them and to use fellowship funds in a variety of ways to further research aims.

Red Cross honors Alessi

Pasquale “Pat” Alessi, police sergeant, Department of Safety, recently received a professional hero award from the Washtenaw County Chapter of the American Red Cross for using cardiopulmonary resuscitation to help save an Internal Revenue Service auditor’s life in January 2000 while patrolling the Wolverine Tower. The awards honor those who go a step beyond in the performance of their jobs.

Burkam receives teaching award

David Burkam, adjunct assistant professor and senior research associate, School of Education, has received the 2001 Excellence in Teaching Award from the Residential College Awards Committee. Burkam was cited for bridging the gap between mathematics, the social sciences and the humanities, and for setting up interdisciplinary courses that combine these fields.

Evans to chair advisory committee

Billy J. Evans, professor of chemistry, has been appointed chair of the Advisory Committee for the Mathematical and Physical Sciences Directorate of the National Science Foundation. His tenure begins in September.

Goddard is runner-up for AERA honor

Roger Goddard, assistant professor of education, is this year’s runner-up for the American Educational Research Association (AERA) Division A Dissertation Award. Goddard’s dissertation is titled “Effects of Collective Teacher Efficacy on Student Achievement in Urban Public Elementary Schools.”

Hedstrom named to advisory board

Margaret Hedstrom, associate professor of information and an expert in archives and records management, has been appointed to a two-year term on the National Digital Strategy Advisory Board. The board will make recommendations to the Library of Congress for implementing the National Digital Information Infrastructure Preservation Program. Congress has appropriated up to $100 million to the Library of Congress to carry out the project over several years.