The University Record, May 21, 2001


Seven faculty named AAAS fellows

Seven faculty members are among 185 scholars nationwide that recently were named American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) Fellows. Members of the new class of fellows were chosen in recognition of their contributions to such fields as mathematics, medicine, computer science, literary criticism, public affairs and the performing arts.

Faculty who were named Fellows are:

  • Frederick Cooper, the Charles Gibson Professor of History, chair of the Department of History, and professor of Afroamerican and African studies, “a distinguished Africanist whose work centers on the question of how structural shifts in labor and the demand for labor have shaped the options, practices and realities of African workers.”

  • Stephen L. Darwall, the John Dewey Collegiate Professor of Philosophy and chair of the Department of Philosophy, “an internationally respected moral theorist and historian of ethics whose work has helped to shape both fields over the course of two decades.”

  • Sid Gilman, the William J. Herdman Professor of Neurology and chair of the Department of Neurology, who studied neuro-

    degenerative diseases with positron emission tomography and “demonstrated generalized cerebral glucose hypermetabolism in Friedreich’s ataxia, focal cerebral hypometabolism in chronic alcoholism, olivo-

    pontocerebellar atrophy and multiple system atrophy, and preservation of benzodiazepine receptors in these disorders.”

  • Philip D. Gingerich, the Emine Cowles Case Collegiate Professor of Paleontology; director and curator of the Museum of Paleontology; and professor of geological sciences, of biological sciences and of anthropology, “a key figure in Cenozoic vertebrate paleontology and evolutionary biology.”

  • Michael A. Marletta, the John Gideon Searle Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and professor of biological chemistry, who “uses molecular and chemical approaches to address complex biological questions” and “has made fundamental discoveries related to the biochemistry and enzymology of nitric oxide.”

  • Gilbert S. Omenn, executive vice president for medical affairs, and professor of molecular medicine and genetics, of human genetics, and of public health, for his “scientific and leadership contributions bridging medicine, genetics and public health.” He has “influenced policies on recombinant DNA applications, bioethics, environmental health risk management and cancer prevention clinical trials.”

  • Stephen W. Raudenbush, professor of education and senior research scientist, Survey Research Center, “a leading educational methodologist recognized nationally and internationally as the leading scholar in his field,” who “works collaboratively across disciplines.”

    For more information on AAAS, visit the Web at

    Randolph honored at special event

    James Randolph, senior associate director, Division of Research Development and Administration, was honored for his exemplary 30-year career April 30 at a testimonial dinner. Colleagues praised Randolph for his dedication to the research community and for setting the standard for professional research administration. Randolph was one of the founders of the Research Administrators Instructional Network (RAIN) program and was instrumental in starting the Michigan chapter of the Society of Research Administration. He was to receive the Midwest Region’s Founders Award this month.

    Merion elected to UNOS board

    Robert M. Merion, associate professor of surgery, has been elected to the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) board of directors. Merion served as a member of the 2000–01 UNOS Membership and Professional Standards Committee. He also has served on the UNOS Scientific Advisory Committee.

    Turcotte elected president of UNOS

    Jeremiah G. Turcotte, professor emeritus of surgery, has been elected president of the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) and will serve on its board of directors. During the 2000–01 term, Turcotte served as UNOS vice president and chair of the organization’s Membership and Professional Standards Committee.

    Zitzewitz receives service award

    Paul Zitzewitz, professor of physics and chair, Department of Natural Sciences, U-M-Dearborn, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Michigan section of the American Association of Physics Teachers in April at the group’s spring conference. The award honors Zitzewitz for his service to the physics community of Michigan and for his commitment to research in physics education.

    Weaverdyck receives DeVito Award

    Shelly Weaverdyck, assistant research scientist and dementia specialist at the Geriatrics Center, has received the Anthony V. DeVito II Memorial Award. The annual award recognizes outstanding service, dedication and commitment to excellence in geriatrics education in Michigan.

    Johnston and McNamara honored at AAO meeting

    Two School of Dentistry professors early in May received the highest honors bestowed by the specialty of orthodontics during the American Association of Orthodontists’ (AAO) annual meeting in Toronto.

    Lysle Johnston, the Robert W. Browne Professor of Dentistry, received the American Board of Orthodontics’ highest award, the Albert H. Ketcham Memorial Award. The award is given annually to an orthodontist who has made a notable contribution to the science and art of orthodontics.

    James McNamara, the Thomas M. and Doris Graber Endowed Professor of Dentistry and professor of cell and developmental biology, received the AAO’s highest award, the James E. Brophy Distinguished Service Award.

    Institute of Architects honors two

    The American Institute of Architects (AIA) recently honored two from the A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning (CAUP). Douglas Kelbaugh, CAUP dean and professor of architecture and urban planning, received the President’s Award for his academic and professional leadership. Mary Anne Drew, assistant to the dean, was made an honorary affiliate member in the AIA for being a “big supporter of the profession and a voice of reason in the lives of young architects.”

    The Huron Land Use Alliance, which advocates compact communities, and open space and farmland preservation, presented Taubman CAUP and Kelbaugh with the 2001 Land Use Design Award for Education. The award recognizes the Fourth National Symposium on New Urbanism, held in February on campus.