The University Record, October 2, 2000

Distinguished University Professorships

Homer A. Neal and Richard Crawford

The Hans T. David Distinguished Professor of Musicology

Richard Crawford

Richard Crawford, an internationally renowned scholar of American music and interpreter of our nation’s musical heritage, has helped bring the study of American music, a subject long ignored, into the mainstream of musical scholarship through his research, writing, and teaching.

His scholarly work, which is timely, provocative and rigorous in methodology and detail, is brilliantly documented in 11 book-length works. Professor Crawford’s William Billings of Boston, one of the first professional-level treatments of any figure from America’s Colonial musical history, won the American Musicology Society’s 1975 Otto Kinkeldey Award for musicological excellence. The American Musical Landscape, published in 1993 and reissued this year in paperback, offers a sweeping synthesis of our nation’s musical heritage. Among the many literary honors accorded Professor Crawford are the Society for American Music’s 1986 Irving Lowens Award for his work on the core repertory of American psalmody and the Music Library Association’s 1990 Vincent Duckles Award for the best bibliography.

As editor-in-chief of the Music of the United States of America, Professor Crawford has shaped this monumental project. Since it was launched in 1993, eight volumes of the 40-volume series have been published, with two more to appear in 2000. Professor Crawford, whose own writing is lean, clear and persuasive, inspires the same in colleagues and students.

A highly regarded member of the School of Music faculty since 1962, Professor Crawford earned three degrees from the University of Michigan, including a doctoral degree in musicology. He was named the Glenn McGeoch Collegiate Professor in 1994. A respected and beloved teacher, Professor Crawford has played a major role in training music educators, bringing to the task warmth and humor, enthusiasm, and love of music.

Professor Crawford, a past-president of the American Musicological Society, received the society’s highest honor, an honorary membership in 1999, which recognizes long-standing members who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of research in music. He received a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship early in his career, has taught at many universities as a visiting professor, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

For his distinguished research, outstanding teaching and contributions to pedagogy, and success in bringing American music into the mainstream of musical scholarship, the University of Michigan proudly recognizes Richard Crawford as the Hans T. David Distinguished University Professor of Musicology.

The Samuel A. Goudsmit Distinguished University Professor of Physics

Homer A. Neal

One of the world’s outstanding experimental physicists, Homer A. Neal has compiled a distinguished record of scholarship and service to the nation and to the University of Michigan, where he has served as chair of the Department of Physics, as vice president for research and as interim president.

Professor Neal moves with ease from the technical details and experimental issues in particle physics to the broadest view of education and science policy matters. He has testified to Congress on numerous occasions and helped the nation redefine its government-university research partnership. He helped launch the National Science Foundation’s extremely successful “Research Experience for Undergraduates,” and provided crucial initial support for the University’s award-winning Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program.

Beginning with his graduate research on proton-proton scattering at relatively low energies, and extending through his present research on the interactions of very high energy antiprotons and protons, Professor Neal has made significant contributions to the field of elementary particle physics. His research group in the DZERO collaboration made the landmark discovery in the successful search for the top quark—a subatomic particle and one of the basic building blocks of the universe.

Professor Neal has directed the Michigan ATLAS Project since 1997. The Michigan ATLAS Project, a key component of the ATLAS Experiment being conducted at the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland, is designing and constructing key detector components being used to find the Higgs particle, which is believed to be responsible for the origin of mass. Professor Neal is recognized as a senior member of this exciting international collaboration involving 150 institutions from more than 30 countries.

Professor Neal, who earned M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the U-M, was appointed chair of the Department of Physics in 1987 following a distinguished academic and administrative career at Indiana University and at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Under Professor Neal’s leadership as vice president for research, a position he held from 1993 to 1996, the University’s research endeavors grew steadily and Michigan became the leading recipient of federal research funding. The University benefited yet again from Professor Neal’s strong leadership when he served as interim president in 1996-97.

Professor Neal is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is a regent and executive committee member of the Smithsonian Institution, a member of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory Advisory Board and a director of Ford Motor Co. He also served on the National Science Board, which oversees the National Science Foundation.

In recognition of his outstanding research, his leadership within the University and the international scientific community, and his contributions to national science policy, the University of Michigan proudly recognizes Homer A. Neal as the Samuel A. Goudsmit Distinguished University Professor of Physics.