The University Record, October 2, 2000

21 faculty to be honored Oct. 4

Editor’s Note: Click here for the full citations presented to the award recipients.

By Mary Jo Frank
Office of the Vice President for Communications

Twenty-one faculty members will be recognized for their teaching, scholarship, service and creative activities at a dinner Oct. 4. Awards to be presented include two Amoco Foundation Teaching Awards, five Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards, five Faculty Recognition Awards, the Distinguished Faculty Governance Award, the Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service, the University Press Book Award, the Distinguished Research Scientist Award, two Research Scientist Achievement Awards, the Research Scientist Recognition Award and two Distinguished University Professorships.

Amoco Foundation Faculty Teaching Awards, which recognize excellence in undergraduate education, will go to Farnam Jahanian, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, and Laura J. Olsen, associate professor of biology. Award criteria include the array of courses taught, the development of new courses or revitalization of existing courses, and the strength of the faculty member’s advising and mentoring skills related to undergraduate teaching. The award stipend is $1,000.

Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards, which recognize extraordinary achievements in teaching, scholarly research or creative endeavors, will be presented to five faculty: Pallab Bhattacharya, the James R. Mellor Professor of Engineering and professor of engineering and computer science; David Ginsburg, the Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine, professor of human genetics and of internal medicine, chief of the Division of Medical Genetics, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; Linda Gregerson, associate professor of English language and literature; Michael A. Marletta, the John G. Searle Professor of Medicinal Chemistry in the College of Pharmacy, professor of biological chemistry in the Medical School and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; and Regina Morantz-Sanchez, professor of history. Each recipient receives a $1,500 stipend.

Five faculty will receive Faculty Recognition Awards: Frieda Ekotto, associate professor of French; Robert Fuller, professor of biological chemistry and associate chair, Department of Biological Chemistry; Michael J. Imperiale, professor of microbiology and immunology; Jennifer Robertson, professor of anthropology and of women’s studies; and Valerie Traub, associate professor of English language and literature and of women’s studies and program director in the Department of English Language and Literature.

Faculty Recognition Award recipients have made substantive contributions to the University through significant achievements in research and other scholarly activities; demonstrated excellence in teaching, advising and mentoring; and participated in service activities. The stipend is $1,000.

Thomas M. Dunn, professor emeritus of chemistry, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Governance Award, which recognizes faculty governance participation over a period of several years, with an emphasis on Universitywide service. He will receive $1,500.

Elizabeth Marie Petty, associate professor of internal medicine and of human genetics, will receive the Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service, which includes a $1,000 stipend. The award recognizes public service activities that relate closely to teaching and research and reflect professional and academic expertise.

Ross Chambers, the Marvin Felheim Distinguished University Professor of French and Comparative Literature, will receive the University Press Book Award for his book Facing It, AIDS Diaries and the Death of the Author (U-M Press, 1999). He will receive $1,000.

James A. Ashton-Miller, research scientist in mechanical engineering and applied mechanics, and in biomedical engineering; and senior research scientist in the Institute of Gerontology, will receive the Distinguished Research Scientist Award. The award recognizes a research scientist or senior research scientist for exceptional scholarly achievement: the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge; the development of innovative technology; or the development of concepts that lead to significant advances in science, education, health, the arts or humanities. The award also recognizes exceptional ability to convey the excitement and significance of scholarship and creative activities to the educated public. Ashton-Miller will be invited to give a public lecture in conjunction with the award and will receive a grant of $3,000 per year for four years.

The Research Scientist Achievement Award, which carries a $1,500 stipend, will be presented to Christiane Anderson, research scientist in the Herbarium; and Sanford Sillman, associate research scientist in the Space Physics Research Laboratory. The Research Scientist Achievement Award recognizes outstanding scholarly achievements, including the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge; the development of innovative technology; or the development of concepts that lead to advances in science, education, health, the arts or humanities.

The Research Scientist Recognition Award will be presented to Audrey F. Seasholtz, associate professor of biological chemistry, senior associate research scientist in the Mental Health Research Institute and associate research scientist in the Reproductive Sciences Program. The award recognizes exceptional scholarly promise in primary research faculty. Seasholtz will receive $1,000.

Distinguished University Professorships will be presented to Richard Crawford, the Hans T. David Distinguished University Professor of Musicology, and to Homer A. Neal, the Samuel A. Goudsmit Distinguished University Professor of Physics, interim president emeritus and vice president emeritus for research. Neal also directs the U-M ATLAS Project.

Distinguished University Professors are scholars of great depth and breadth and outstanding teachers and mentors. They also are generous in their service to their disciplines, to their schools and colleges, and to the University.

Crawford asked that his Distinguished University Professorship be named in honor of his former teacher, Hans T. David, who taught musicology at the U-M from 1959 until his death in 1967. David, who was born in Speyer, Germany, was a Bach scholar and a leading figure in the second generation of American musicologists. David brought the experience of German scholarship to the development of the discipline in the United States.

Neal requested that his Distinguished University Professorship be named in honor of Samuel A. Goudsmit, who was born in The Hague, Netherlands, and taught at the U-M from 1927 to 1946. Along with fellow student George Uhlenback, Goudsmit discovered the electron spin, which in turn led to the recognition that spin was a property of protons, neutrons and most elementary particles, and to a fundamental change in the mathematical structure of quantum mechanics.

Distinguished University Professors receive annual supplements of $3,000 for salary and $5,000 for research. Upon retirement, they become Distinguished University Professors Emeriti and the stipends end. The first eight professorships were created in 1947. As recently as May 1998, the Regents created 12 new positions, bringing the total number to 30. Currently, active faculty hold 21 distinguished professorships.