The University Record, October 9, 2000


Becker honored with conference

Marvin B. Becker, professor emeritus of history, is being recognized by his former graduate students with a Nov. 10–11 conference, “Florence Reconsidered: A Conference in Honor of Marvin Becker,” sponsored by the University of California-Santa Barbara. A number of Becker’s early articles on Florentine Renaissance history have been collected and will be published in a volume by the U-M Press in 2001.

Cooper, Scott and colleague collaborate in ‘Beyond Slavery’

Frederick Cooper, the Charles Gibson Collegiate Professor of History and chair, Department of History, professor of history, Residential College, and professor of Afroamerican and African studies; Rebecca Scott, the Frederick Huetwell Professor of History; and colleague Thomas C. Holt, the James Westfall Thompson Professor of American and African American History, University of Chicago, have collaborated to produce Beyond Slavery,, which explores the transition from slavery to freedom and what this transition meant for former slaves, former slaveowners and the societies in which they lived.

In the book, Cooper explores emancipation and imperialism in French West Africa, Scott examines southern Louisiana and Cuba at the end of slavery, and Holt focuses on emancipation and citizenship in Jamaica.

Douglas receives Hacker Prize

Susan Douglas, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and the Catherine Neafie Kellogg Professor of Communication Studies, received the Hacker Prize from the Society for the History of Technology for her book Listening In: Radio and the American Imagination. The Society annually awards the Hacker Prize to the best popular book about the relationship of technology and culture published during the previous three years. The award recognizes books in the history of technology that are directed to a broad audience, including students and the interested public.

Wu elected to Academia Sinica

Jeff Wu, the H.C. Carver Professor of Statistics and professor of industrial and operations engineering, has been elected a member of Academia Sinica (AS). AS membership is the highest honor bestowed on scientists and scholars of Chinese origin. Its membership includes six Nobel laureates, several winners of the Wolfe Prize, Fields Medal and Craford Prize, and dozens of National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering members. Wu is the third U-M faculty member to receive this honor. Prior recipients were C. Yih, formerly the Timoshenko University Distinguished University Professor, and S.M. Wu, formerly the J. Reid and Polly Anderson Professor of Manufacturing Technology.

Markus receives Bronze Chalice Award

Donka Markus, visiting assistant professor of Greek and Latin, has received the Bronze Chalice Award from AbleMedia for her submission “Patterns of Cohesion and Discontinuity as a Teaching Tool for Reading Caesar and Cicero in the Second Year.” Markus’ piece has been published on the Classics Technology Center (CTC) on AbleMedia’s Web site, Markus describes “chunking” text as a method for raising students’ awareness of the processes involved in language comprehension. “Chunking” is the conscious or unconscious processing of language by segmenting sentences into chunks as these are read or heard.

Songer project honored

Nancy Songer, associate professor of education, received an award for her research project titled “One Sky, Many Voices” at the Secretary of Education’s Conference on Education Technology 2000. The project was honored as one of five most promising technology projects at the conference.

Medical School honors staff members

The Medical School presented four staff members with the first Medical School Staff Recognition Awards at the Staff Appreciation Picnic this summer. The awards recognize and celebrate the efforts of outstanding Medical School staff. More than 30 staff were nominated by staff members, colleagues, peers and supervisors.

The Research Staff Recognition Award was given to Julie Jones, senior health science research associate, Department of Human Genetics. Jones has trained and assisted several generations of students in complex molecular genetic technologies with patience and commitment. The Nomination Review Committee was particularly impressed with Jones’ volunteer work with the Novi public schools, where she speaks to students about genetics and science.

Mary Borgerson, medical secretary, Section of Urology, received the Office/Clerical Recognition Award. Borgerson’s co-workers nominated her because of her “willingness to help, coupled with her ability to brainstorm solutions and her follow-through on whatever she undertakes.”

The Supervisor/Manager Recognition Award was given to Linda Peasley, basic science administrator, Department of Human Genetics. Peasley’s nominator wrote that she “brings to her tasks a high degree of professionalism, communicating clear expectations of performance, setting high standards for herself and for those whom she supervises and showing sensitivity to the needs of others.”

Elizabeth Goodwin, student services associate, Department of Biological Chemistry, is the recipient of the Professional/Administrative Staff Recognition Award. Goodwin was referred to as a mentor and counselor to fellow staff and students, and a committed, indispensable member of the department.

Carpenter chosen for CASBS fellowship

Daniel P. Carpenter, assistant professor of political science and research fellow, Department of Health Management and Policy, has been chosen for a Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) fellowship. Fellows are selected after a three-step process involving nomination, rating by a review panel and selection by the Center’s board of trustees. To be chosen, scientists and scholars must show exceptional accomplishment or promise in their fields. After eligibility is granted, the prospective Fellow and the Center negotiate a year for residency.

CASBS was established in 1954 by the Ford Foundation to increase “knowledge of the principles that govern human behavior.” Fellows spend nine to 12 months in residency near the Center, in San Francisco, Berkeley, Santa Cruz or the East Bay, where they conduct research and associate with other scientists and scholars from a variety of disciplines.