The University Record, September 5, 2000


Lecture halls honor seven scientists

Seven Medical School lecture halls have been named in honor of seven faculty members. Two rooms in the Medical Science I Bldg. honor John Jacob Abel and Minor J. Coon, the Victor C. Vaughan University Professor and professor of biological chemistry.

James V. Neel and Frederick C. Neidhardt, the Frederick G. Novy Distinguished University Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, are recognized with halls in the Taubman Medical Library. Horace W. Davenport, the William Beaumont Professor Emeritus of Physiology, Elizabeth C. Crosby and Gerald D. Abrams, professor of pathology, are honored in the Medical Science II Bldg.

The naming project was initiated by the Medical School’s Sesquicentennial Celebration Committee in recognition of the importance of the basic sciences as the medical curriculum’s core and the base for medical research. The departments that use the halls selected the honorees.

Anderson receives Presidents’ Award

David Anderson, food service manager, Dining Services, has received a Regional Presidents’ Award from the National Association of College and University Food Services (NACUFS). The association’s nine regional chapters recognized outstanding service at the national conference in July.

NACUFS is a trade association for campus dining departments at higher education institutions in the United States, Canada and abroad. The organization promotes high quality food service and provides education, training, technical assistance, information and scholarships to its institutional and industry members.

Baker named AAAS Congressional Fellow

Diane Baker, lecturer in epidemiology and in human genetics, was named next year’s American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Congressional Fellow. Approximately 80 socially aware scientists and health care professionals are chosen each year to contribute to federal policy-making processes. The program is supported by the Department of Energy, the American Society of Human Genetics and the Fellow’s home department.

Buchman receives Ivy Society Award

Steven Buchman, associate professor of surgery, was selected as the Robert H. Ivy Society Award winner at the national meeting of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons. The Ivy Society Award is given annually for the paper showing the greatest degree of excellence in preparation, presentation, illustration of scientific material, scientific merit, originality and impact at the annual meeting.

McKeachie honored at APA convention

Wilbert J. McKeachie, professor emeritus of psychology and research scientist emeritus, Center for Research on Learning and Teaching, was honored at the American Psychological Association (APA) convention with a special symposium, “Teaching Across Generations —Honoring the Contributions of Wilbert J. McKeachie.” Jacquelynne S. Eccles, the Wilbert J. McKeachie Collegiate Professor of Psychology, professor of women’s studies and of education, and senior research scientist, Center for Group Dynamics and Institute for Research on Women and Gender, and Paul Pintrich, associate dean and professor, School of Education, and professor of psychology, were among the symposium participants.

McKeachie received a Presidential Award at the convention, recognizing “exemplary service to the scientific and academic community over the course of more than 50 years of affiliation with the APA including service as president in 1976.”