The University Record, September 11, 2000


Gelderloos receives state service award

Orin G. Gelderloos, professor of biology and environmental studies and of natural resources, U-M-Dearborn, received the Service-Learning Educator Award at the Seventh Annual Governor’s Service Awards Ceremony this spring. Gelderloos was honored for his leadership and service to environmental education while focusing on the improvement and preservation of natural areas throughout the state. Among other initiatives, he created a program that has brought more than 1,000 inner-city students to Dearborn’s Natural Area four times a year to study seasonal changes in the environment.

Jackson recognized at APA convention

James S. Jackson, the Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and professor of health behavior and health education; director, Center for Afroamerican and African Studies; director and senior research scientist, Research Center for Group Dynamics; and faculty associate, Institute of Gerontology, received the Peace and Social Justice Award from the Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict and Violence at the 108th Annual Convention of the American Psychological Association (APA).

The society cited Jackson’s influential research and work as a role model and mentor to young psychologists. “His research on prejudice and racism, including cross-national comparative studies of public attitudes and state policies on immigration, illuminates crucial linkages between social justice concerns and building sustainable peace cultures,” said Corann Okorodudu, president of the society.

Davis honored by Maria Mitchell Association

Cinda-Sue Davis, director, Women in Science and Engineering Program (WISE), will receive the Maria Mitchell Association’s 2000 Maria Mitchell Women in Science Award at an Oct. 7 ceremony. Davis will share the award with Catherine Banks, director of the Science and Mathematics Center for Women at Texas Women’s University. The honorees will receive a $10,000 cash award.

WISE, established in 1980 by women faculty members in the sciences and engineering, works to increase the number of women students who choose majors, advanced degrees and careers in science, engineering and mathematics. In addition to offering internship opportunities, a residential program for undergraduate women and other programs for women students, WISE conducts research on issues facing women in science and engineering and advocates for female students.

Davis has been the WISE director since 1984. Since 1993, Davis has served as a national board member of the Women in Engineering Program Advocates Network and is currently president-elect of the organization.

The Maria Mitchell Association, named after the first woman astronomer and astronomy professor in the United States, encourages girls and women to pursue studies and careers in science and technology.

Haefner, Tate selected for ELAM program

Hope K. Haefner, associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology, and Denise G. Tate, associate professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation, are among the 47 women chosen to participate in the sixth class of the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program for Women.

The ELAM program prepares women faculty for senior leadership positions at academic health centers by focusing on emerging issues in academic medicine and personal professional development. ELAM strives to increase the number of women leaders at academic health centers.