The University Record, April 1, 2002

Nominations sought for DPS Safety Oversight committee

The Public Safety Oversight Committee, required under Public Act No. 120, is comprised of two staff, two students and two faculty nominated and elected by their peers. This committee receives and makes recommendations regarding grievances against any public safety officer deputized by the University.

The staff member positions on the committee are for a two-year term and are elected through a mailed ballot. One staff member of the committee is elected in odd-numbered years, by staff members represented by a union; and one is elected in even-numbered years, by staff members not represented by a union.

This year, the election will be held for a two-year term to replace the non-union staff member whose term is expiring.

Staff members not represented by unions may nominate themselves or agree to be nominated. In the event there are more than six nominees, Human Resources and Affirmative Action will provide a balanced slate of six candidates from the various job families for a ballot to be sent to all non-union staff members from the allied health, professional/administrative and technical job groups.

Please submit nominations to HR/AA Employee Relations/Compensation department, 2005 Wolverine Tower, by May 15, so it can prepare the ballot, conduct the election and appoint the new person by July 1. Nominations may also be submitted via e-mail to