The University Record, August 12, 2002

U-M president names search committees for senior leadership positions

By Julie Peterson

President Mary Sue Coleman has announced the formation of three search advisory committees to launch national searches to fill key leadership positions at the University: executive vice president and chief financial officer (EVPCFO), executive vice president for medical affairs (EVPMA), and vice president for development.

In an e-mail message to the campus community, Coleman noted that “forming the permanent administrative leadership for the University is an important task. I want to thank all of the individuals who have agreed to serve on these committees and help me.”

The committees include faculty, staff, students and alumni. Detailed information can be found on the President’s Office website at

Anjan Thakor, the Edward J. Frey Professor of Banking and Finance and chair of the Finance Department in the Business School, will chair the search advisory committee for the executive vice president and chief financial officer. The EVPCFO is responsible for University-wide supervision of finances, investments, facilities and business functions. Timothy Slottow, associate vice president for finance, is serving as interim CFO.

Chairing the search advisory committee for the position of executive vice president for medical affairs is Timothy Johnson, the Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children. Johnson also is chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology in the Medical School, professor of women’s studies in the College of Literature, Sciences and the Arts, and a research scientist with the Center for Human Growth and Development.

The EVPMA is the chief executive officer of the U-M Health System, overseeing the Medical School, the Hospitals and Health Centers, the Michigan Health Corporation, and M-Care. Dr. Lazar Greenfield, professor of surgery, has been asked to serve as interim executive vice president for medical affairs, pending approval by the Board of Regents.

Rebecca Blank, dean of the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, will chair the search advisory committee for the position of vice president of development. Blank also is the Henry Carter Adams Collegiate Professor of Public Policy and professor of economics.

The vice president for development is responsible for the University’s fundraising efforts. Cynthia Wilbanks, vice president for government relations, is serving in an additional role as the interim vice president for development.

Nominations for any of the three positions may be sent to the respective search advisory committee chairs in care of the Office of the President, University of Michigan, 2070 Fleming Administration Building, 503 Thompson St., Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1340.

Related links: President’s Office website at

Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs (EVPMA)
Search Advisory Committe

Vice President for Development
Search Advisory Committee

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer (EVPCFO)
Search Advisory Committee