The University Record, December 10, 2001

Eleven U-M faculty members named AAAS Fellows

By Rachel Ehrenberg
News and Information Services

Eleven U-M faculty members are among 288 scholars nationwide who recently were named American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows. Individuals are chosen in recognition of their efforts toward advancing science, or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

U-M faculty who were named Fellows include:

Brian P. Coppola, associate professor of chemistry, for his “distinguished accomplishments in research in chemical education” and for his “leadership in establishing the highest standards of scholarship for chemical education research.”

John C. Drach, professor of dentistry and medicinal chemistry, for “research that has identified new antiviral compounds that act by unique mechanisms, and that has provided new fundamental knowledge on viral replication.”

David Ginsburg, the Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine, Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and professor of human genetics, for “discoveries of remarkable mechanisms underlying various disorders of blood coagulation, including von Willebrand factor, factors V and VIII, and plasminogen activator inhibitor.”

Gordon L. Kane, professor of physics, for his “sustained contributions to particle theory” and “for his championship of high-energy physics at new frontiers, particularly in the search for the Higgs boson and supersymmetry.”

Joseph S. Krajcik, professor of education, for his “distinguished leadership in developing creative technologies applications, in promoting school science reform, in outreach to underrepresented and urban communities, in preparing competent science educators and for service as NARST president.”

John B. Lowe, the Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine, Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and professor of pathology, for his “outstanding contributions to glycobiology, inflammation, and white blood cells functions.”

David M. Lubman, professor of chemistry, for “distinguished contributions to the instrumentation and practice of mass spectroscopy and to its application to proteomics.”

Martha L. Ludwig, professor of biological chemistry and research biophysicist in the biophysics research division, for “distinguished contributions to structural biology, especially to the understanding of protein-cofactor interactions.”

Miriam Meisler, professor of human genetics, for her “outstanding genetic studies of sodium channels in the nervous system” and for “helping to make the mouse an essential element of the human genome project.”

Martha J. Somerman, associate dean for research at the School of Dentistry and professor of pharmacology, for her “distinguished contributions to the fundamental biology of the oral hard tissues, particularly for enhancing understanding of the regeneration of periodontal hard issues.”

Charles F. Yocum, professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology and of chemistry, for his “fundamental contributions to plant biochemistry, particularly for the highly purified preparations of the oxygen-evolving complex and the elucidation of the assembly of photosystem II.”