The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
search Updated 1:00 PM December 20, 2002



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us

contact us

Four named APS Fellows
Four U-M faculty members have been named fellows by the American Physical Society: James Grotberg, professor of biomedical engineering; Herbert Winful, the Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Center for Ultrafast Optical Systems; Robert Ziff, professor of chemical engineering; and Franco Nori, associate professor of physics and applied physics, Center for the Study of Complex Systems, Michigan Center for Theoretical Physics.

New fellows are elected after review and recommendation by a fellowship committee on a unit level, additional review by the APS Fellowship Committee and final approval by the APS Council. Only one-half of 1 percent of the total APS membership is named fellow each year.

Spencer named College Board trustee
Ted Spencer, director of undergraduate admissions, has been elected a trustee of the College Boarda not-for-profit membership association whose mission is to prepare, inspire and connect students with opportunities. Founded in 1900, the College Board comprises more than 4,300 schools, colleges, universities and other educational organizations. Every year, the College Board serves more than 3 million students and their parents, 22,000 high schools, and 3,500 colleges through major programs and services in college admissions, guidance, assessment, financial aid, enrollment, and teaching and learning. Spencer's term runs through Oct. 2006.

Education faculty receive grants

Prof. Michael Nettles and Catherine Millett, an assistant research scientist, from the School of Education (SoE) received $215,000 from the Goldman Sachs Foundation for continuation of the project "Goldman Sachs Signature Initiative: Preparing High Potential Youth for Excellence and Leadership."

SoE Dean Karen Wixson received $12,855 from the Spencer Foundation for the project "Fifth Retreat for Deans/Directors Participating in the Spencer Foundation's Research Training Group Program."

Scobey named to humanities council
David Scobey, associate professor of architecture and director of the Arts of Citizenship Program (ACP), has been appointed to a four-year term as a board member of the Michigan Humanities Council. Authorized and partially funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, the council is an independent, nonprofit organization that supports academic and public humanities programs throughout the state of Michigan. ACP fosters the civic and community role of the arts, humanities and design through university-public collaborations.

Crawford scores ASCAP award
Richard Crawford, professor of music, was given an American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) Deems Taylor Award Dec. 4 at the organizations' 35th annual reception in New York City. The award, presented for excellence in writing about music during 2001, recognizes Crawford's book "America's Musical Life: A History."

Schottenfeld garners ACE honor
David Schottenfeld, professor of epidemiology, has been named the recipient of the American College of Epidemiology (ACE) Abraham Lilienfeld Award. The college's most prestigious award is given annually to an epidemiologist whose career has shown sustained excellence in research, teaching and practice. Schottenfeld worked closely with Lilienfeld and was involved in the establishment of ACE in 1979.


More stories