The University Record, December 17, 2001

Presidential Search Advisory Committee named

By Julie Peterson
Office of of Communications

The Board of Regents appointed the members of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee (PSAC) Dec. 13. The PSAC will assist the eight-member board, which has formed a committee of the whole to serve as the Presidential Search Committee.

In addition to chair Earl Lewis, vice provost and dean of the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, the committee members are:

  • Susan E. Alcock, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and associate professor of classical archaeology and classics in LS&A, and winner of a MacArthur Foundation award in 2000.

  • Paulette M. Cebulski, director and associate professor, Physical Therapy Department, School of Health Professions and Studies, U-M-Flint, and former member of the Senate Assembly.

  • Anocha Cornell, custodian supervisor, Building Services, Plant Operations.

  • Nicholas F. Delbanco, Robert Frost Collegiate Professor of English Language and Literature, director of the Program in Creative Writing, and chair of the Hopwood Committee.

  • John F. Greden, Rachel Upjohn Professor of Psychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience and chair of the Department of Psychiatry in the Medical School, and executive director of the new U-M Depression Center.

  • Saul A. Green, president of the U-M Alumni Association, and senior counsel and director, Minority Business Practice Group, Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone, P.L.C., Detroit.

  • Patricia Y. Gurin, Nancy Cantor Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Women’s Studies, chair and professor of psychology, and former interim dean of LS&A; and author of research on the educational benefits of diversity which has been pivotal in the University’s defense of its admissions policies.

  • Lisa R. Jackson, student in psychology.

  • Michael J. Jandernoa, chairman of the board of directors of Perrigo Company in Allegan, Mich., the nation’s largest manufacturer and marketer of store brand, over-the-counter drug and nutritional products; and member of the U-M Business School Visiting Committee and the Michigan Life Sciences Corridor Steering Committee.

  • Rashmi Luthra, associate professor of communications, U-M-Dearborn, and member of the Agenda for Women Committee in 2000-01.

  • Matthew J. Nolan, undergraduate student in LS&A majoring in history and political science, and president of the Michigan Student Assembly.

  • Tresa M. Pollock, professor of materials science and engineering, College of Engineering.

  • Lawrence Root, professor in the School of Social Work, director of the Institute for Labor and Industrial Relations, and chair of the U-M Standing Committee on Labor Standards and Human Rights.

  • William R. Roush, Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Chemistry, and co-chair of the Life Sciences Commission.

  • Theodore L. Spencer, director of Undergraduate Admissions.

    The committee is expected to have its first meeting early in January. Regents have said they hope to conclude the search within six to nine months.

    Staffing the PSAC will be Barbara Wagner, administrative associate in the Office of the Provost. Nominations may be sent to Wagner at 2012 Fleming Administration Building, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1340, or by e-mail to