The University Record, July 1, 2002

ADVANCE announces Elizabeth Crosby research awards

By Judy Steeh
News and Information Services

The National Science Foundation (NSF)-funded ADVANCE program will present seven Elizabeth Caroline Crosby Research Awards as part of its mission to increase the participation and advancement of women faculty in science and engineering at the U-M. The awards were announced by Abigail Stewart of the Institute for Research on Women and Gender, who is one of the principal investigators on the NSF grant.

“We were happy to see that the proposals we received covered a wide range of schools, including Medicine, Engineering, and LS&A,” Stewart said. “The proposals were judged on two criteria: the quality and significance of the scholarly activity itself and, equally important, its value in enhancing women’s participation and advancement in science and engineering at the university.”

Funds were awarded to:

Maria Clara Cruz da Silva Castro, assistant professor of geology, for an assistant professor and a post-doctoral fellow to investigate the origin of discrepancies between water ages estimated through different geochemical tracers.

Aline Cotel, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering, for an assistant professor, graduate student, and undergraduate to conduct the first phase of a river restoration project.

Kimberlee Jane Kearfott, professor of nuclear engineering and of biomedical engineering, to obtain equipment capable of measuring extremely small amounts of gamma radiation in soil, air, water, concrete and other samples.

Joanna Mirecki Millunchick, assistant professor of materials science and engineering, to establish a Women in Materials Science Speaker Series and to facilitate travel to conferences to publicize research being done at the U-M.

Kristen S. Moore, assistant professor of mathematics, to facilitate completion of a research program that will answer open questions in actuarial and financial mathematics, and help develop the mathematical tools available to analyze the financial environment.

Geneva M. Omann, associate professor of surgery and of biological chemistry, to develop high throughput assays for measuring G-protein coupled receptor binding and processing.

Ana I. Sirviente, assistant professor of naval architecture and marine engineering, for a doctoral student to work on a computational/experimental project to model free-surface flows on partially submerged bodies.

The awards are funded by a five-year, $3.7 million grant from NSF, which was given to U-M to develop strategies that will improve opportunities for tenure track women faculty in scientific and engineering fields. Results of a baseline climate survey of scientists on campus, which included a space, equipment and resource inventory, will be announced in the fall.

The Crosby Research Awards are named for world-renowned neuroanatomist Elizabeth Caroline Crosby (1888–1983), who was the first woman full professor of the U-M Medical School and the first woman to be awarded the Henry Russel Lectureship. She received the Henry Gray Award in Neuroanatomy in 1972 and the National Medal of Science in 1979. Although she retired in 1958, she served as a clinical consultant at U-M and at the University of Alabama, and remained active in scientific work until the end of her life.