The University Record, June 3, 2002


Gladwin is named to boards

Thomas N. Gladwin, professor of natural resources and environment, and of business administration, was named to the boards of directors of the Sustainable Energy Institute in Washington, D.C. and the Southeast Michigan Sustainable Business Forum.

Gladwin was elected chairperson of the University’s environmental faculty steering committee and appointed faculty director of the U.S. Senior Executive Seminar of HRH. The Prince of Wales’ Business and the Environment Programme run at Wingspread in collaboration with the Johnson Foundation.

Arb receives award

The Nichols Arboretum received the Preservation Project of the Year Award at 7 p.m. May 13 in Council Chambers, second floor, City Hall. The award is presented by the City of Ann Arbor Historic District Commission in recognition of moving and rehabilitating the James D. Reader Jr. Urban Environmental Education Center.

Observatory receives Honor Award

The U-M Detroit Observatory was recognized by the American Institute of Architects Michigan with its Honor Award. It was one of five buildings statewide to receive this prestigious honor.

Museum of Art recognized for book

The Museum of Art (UMMA) has won the Independent Publisher Book Award (IPPY) for best photography book of 2002 for “In Human Touch: Photographs by Ernestine Ruben.” The IPPY awards recognize overall achievement in publishing, including content, visual quality and design.

The book accompanied the exhibition “In Human Touch: Photographs by Ernestine Ruben,” a retrospective selection of the photographer’s work.

Merajver receives two awards

Sofia D. Merajver, associate professor of internal medicine, was presented two awards for her exceptional leadership and research at the U-M Comprehensive Cancer Center.

The Ford Motor Company presented Merajver with the Ford Leadership in Health Award. Merajver was nominated for her commitment to breast and ovarian cancer research. As part of the award, she receives a $10,000 stipend to further her research.

Merajver also received the Arvon Women of Achievement Award from the Miss Michigan Scholarship Organization. Merajver was selected for her volunteer work throughout Michigan, which reflects her dedication to patient-center research and medical care. Merajver will receive $500 to donate to the Michigan charity of her choice.

Ashford elected management fellow

Susan Ashford, senior associate dean for academic affairs at the School of Business Administration, has been elected a fellow of the Academy of Management. There are nearly 12,000 members of the Academy and only 175 fellows.

Lin appointed to NIH study section

Xiong Lin, associate professor in biostatistics, has been selected to serve as a member of the Social Sciences, Nursing, Epidemiology and Methods Study Section, Center for Scientific Review at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Lin will serve on the study section July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2006.

Study sections review and make recommendations to grant applications submitted to the NIH and survey the status of research in their fields.

Springer named 2002 Hero

Ninfa Springer, associate professor emeritus of nursing, was named a 2002 Hero by the Computerworld Honors Program (CHP) for her work on the Virtual Class on Nursing and Nutrition, a distance-education project. CHP was established in 1988 to document the evolution of information technology and is an initiative between more than 100 leaders of the information technology industry and the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History.

Deromedi appointed NHPRC fellow

The National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC) has selected Nancy Deromedi, assistant archivist at the Bentley Historical Library, to receive its archival research fellowship.

NHPRC fellows are required to conduct research and write about a topic of importance to the archival profession. Deromedi’s topic is “Wired Faculty: Research to Assess the Archival Value of Faculty Web Sites to Document their Functions and Activities at the University of Michigan.” Deromedi will present her findings in a symposium June 2003 in Boston.

Nolan honored for service

Elizabeth Nolan, clinical nurse specialist, received the Lifetime Member Award from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN). The award is given to individuals who have rendered distinguished service to the association and demonstrated the potential for continuing contributions to acute and critical-care nursing through AACN.

Carter-Su recognized for achievements

Christian Carter-Su, professor of physiology and associate director of the Michigan Diabetes Research and Training Center, is the recipient of the Medical School’s Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research.

Carter-Su is recognized for her scientific achievements, including her research on the mechanism of growth hormone receptor signaling, for her commitment to teaching and mentoring, and for her leadership and service to the Medical School and professional organizations. Carter Su will present “Uncovering the secrets of growth hormone signaling” 4 p.m. June 13 in the Ford Amphitheater, University Hospital.