The University Record, June 17, 2002


Springer named 2002 Hero

Ninfa Springer, associate professor emeritus of nursing, was named a 2002 Hero by the Computerworld Honors Program (CHP) for her work on the Virtual Class on Nursing and Nutrition, a distance-education project. CHP was established in 1988 to document the evolution of information technology and is an initiative between more than 100 leaders of the information technology industry and the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History.

Deromedi appointed NHPRC fellow

The National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC) has selected Nancy Deromedi, assistant archivist at the Bentley Historical Library, to receive its archival research fellowship.

NHPRC fellows are required to conduct research and write about a topic of importance to the archival profession. Deromedi’s topic is “Wired Faculty: Research to Assess the Archival Value of Faculty Web Sites to Document their Functions and Activities at the University of Michigan.” Deromedi will present her findings in a symposium June 2003 in Boston.

Nolan honored for service

Elizabeth Nolan, clinical nurse specialist, received the Lifetime Member Award from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN). The award is given to individuals who have rendered distinguished service to the association and demonstrated the potential for continuing contributions to acute and critical-care nursing through AACN.

Carter-Su recognized for achievements

Christian Carter-Su, professor of physiology and associate director of the Michigan Diabetes Research and Training Center, is the recipient of the Medical School Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research.

Carter-Su is recognized for her scientific achievements, including her research on the mechanism of growth hormone receptor signaling, for her commitment to teaching and mentoring, and for her leadership and service to the Medical School and professional organizations.

Workplace award recipients named

The Office of Human Resources and Affirmative Action handed out its 2002 staff awards during the Empowering the Workforce Expo.

Nathan Norman, director of building services, was given the Distinguished Service Award for providing outstanding service to the University and community.

The Plant Building Services team of MSRB III Crazy Eights received the Exemplary Team Award. Team members include Linda Solari, Wanda Peles, Donna Hudgins, David Oldenburg, Clifford Williams, Fred Polger, Darris Caddell and Douglas Manwaring.

Linda M. Peasley, basic science administrator of human genetics, received the Outstanding Leadership Award.

Audiology director takes career award

Paul Kileny, director of audiology and electrophysiology and of the Hearing Rehabilitation Program, received the American Academy of Audiology’s “Career Award in Hearing.” The award is the highest honor given by the academy, which represents 8,000 audiologists nationwide.

Kileny received the award because of many pioneering accomplishments throughout his 24-year career, including work on infant hearing screening and cochlear implants.