The University Record, June 17, 2002

Faculty receive career development funds

By Pamela A. Raymond
Office of the Provost

Fifteen faculty members received Faculty Career Development Awards in a competition held this spring.

The fund provides discretionary accounts of $5,000. The program is designed to recognize instructional track faculty who devote an exceptional amount of time and effort to mentoring and service. The funds may be used to support graduate students, travel, books, computers or other discretionary purchases relating to scholarship, research or creative activity.

Applicants were selected based on their scholarly and service records and the impact of their mentoring and service activities on the University community, their professional community and the public.

Award recipients are:

  • Jossianna Arroyo, assistant professor of Spanish

  • Seema Bhatnagar, assistant professor of psychology

  • Liza E. Black, assistant professor of history and of American culture

  • R. Alexander Blackwood, associate professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases

  • Santiago Colás, associate professor of Spanish

  • Jacqueline R. Francis, assistant professor of history of art and of afroamerican and African studies

  • Larry M. Gant, associate professor of social work

  • Marcia C. Inhorn, associate professor of health behavior and health education

  • Scott T. Kurashige, assistant professor of American culture and of history

  • Xihong Lin, associate professor of biostatistics

  • Ramaswami Mahalingam, assistant professor of psychology and assistant research scientist, Institute for Research on Women and Gender

  • Erik A. Mueggler, associate professor of anthropology

  • Mark H. Nornes, associate professor of film & video studies and of Asian languages and cultures

  • Ivette Perfecto, associate professor of natural resources and environment

  • Lydia M. Soo, associate professor of architecture and adjunct associate professor of history of art