The University Record, May 20, 2002


Richardson receives award

Caroline R. Richardson, lecturer in family medicine, received the Gender Equity Award from the American Medical Women’s Association for her Domestic Violence Sequence.

Audiology academy recognizes Kileny

Paul Kileny, professor of otorhinolaryngology and director of speech and audiology at the Department of Otorhinolaryngology, received the “Career Award in Hearing” from the American Academy of Audiology.

Kileny received the award for his significant contributions to the advancement of audiology throughout his 24-year career. His accomplishments include studies on infant hearing screening and cochlear implantation.

Nolan named lifetime member for critical care nursing

Elizabeth “Elsie” M. Nolan, clinical nurse specialist at the Cardiovascular Center, received the American Association of Critical Care Nurses’ (AACN) Lifetime Member Award. The award is given to individuals who have rendered distinguished service and demonstrated the potential for continuing contributions to acute and critical care nursing.

Nolan has been an active member of AACN since the 1970s and is one of the founding members of the Washtenaw County Chapter of Michigan.

Public Health honors staff members

The School of Public Health (SPH) presented four staff members with the Recognizing Excellence in Staff Service Award. Staff members honored were Susan A. Crawford, student services associate in Environmental Health Sciences; Shanta T. Layton, student services associate of epidemiology; Maria Anita Salinas, research associate of social science; and Dinah R. Stokes, secretary in biostatistics.

The Recognizing Excellence in Staff Service Program was established to recognize and express appreciation to all SPH staff members for their service and accomplishments. Each recipient receives a $1,000 award.

Group publishes book on environment

Several U-M faculty and staff members have co-written “Creating a Sustainable Future Living in Harmony with the Earth,” which addresses environmental problems and focuses on what people and communities can do and have done to change environmental direction.

Authors are James “Jim” Hoyt, computer systems specialist; Peter B. Kaufman, professor emeritus of biology; Christopher W. Coon, on a leave of absence from psychology; Barbara J. Madsen, adjunct assistant professor of biology; and Sara L. Warber, co-director of Complimentary and Alternative Medicine. J.N. Govil, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, and Casey Lu, Humboldt State University in Arcata, Calif., also contributed.

For more information, visit the Web at

Engineering praises commitment

The College of Engineering recognized six staff members for their outstanding service and commitment. The honorees receive $1,500 stipends and framed pictures depicting the four seasons at the College, along with engraved citations of appreciations.

Staff members recognized are Marcella Brighton, administrative manager, Mechanical Engineering; Celia Eidex, graduate program student adviser, Industrial and Operations Engineering; Nonna Hamilton, coordinator, Macromolecular Science and Engineering; Lori Haskins, associate director, engineering administration; William R. Knudsen, engineer in research, Electrical and Computer Science and Jeanne Patterson, executive secretary, Electrical and Computer Science.