The University Record, November 5, 2001


Drach/Somerman elected to AAAS

John C. Drach, professor of dentistry and of medicinal chemistry, and Martha Somerman, associate dean for research of the School of Dentistry, professor of pharmacology and of dentistry, have been elected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The council elects members “whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.” AAAS is the world’s largest general science organization and publisher of the peer-reviewed journal, Science.

Scobey receives 2001 Award of Merit

David Scobey, associate professor of architecture and director of the Arts of Citizenship Program, was presented the 2001 Award in Merit in Education by the Historical Society of Michigan.

Scobey and his collaborators were recognized for their “remarkable work with the Students on Site project and the Arts of Citizenship Program.” Students on Site, a local history project of the Arts of Citizenship Program, partners U-M faculty and students with teachers and students from the Ann Arbor Public Schools.

Rodgers completes German translation

Jonathan Rodgers, librarian and head of the Near East division of the Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library, recently completed the revision to the first translation from German to English of A Grammar of Classical Arabic by Wolfdietrich Fischer. The book is being published by Yale University.

Lafortune receives Axelby Award

Stephane Lafortune, associate chair and professor of electrical and computer science, received the George S. Axelby Award for the most outstanding paper of the IEEE Control Systems Society during the previous year. The award was given for his paper “Decentralized Supervisory Control with Communicating Controllers,” IEEE TAC 45 (Sept. 2000), 1620–1638.

SSW recognizes Labumbard

Connie Labumbard, academic services clerk at the Office of Field Instruction, School of Social Work (SSW), was chosen as the recipient of the Spring/Summer 2001 Staff Recognition Award by the School.

Among Labumbard’s contributions to the SSW are commitment to teamwork, unusual initiative, the ability to handle multiple tasks while maintaining a pleasant and soothing manner and commitment to excellence.

The SSW presents this award twice every year to staff members who have made significant contributions through their work.

Fowler receives MASFAA Award

Pamela W. Fowler, director of the Office of Financial Aid, received a Meritorious Service Award from the Midwest Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (MASFAA). This unique award was given to Fowler “in recognition of her tireless commitment and service to the Association and the financial aid profession.”

Johnson receives Political Nurse Activist Award

Cheryl Johnson, clinical nurse with the Health System, has been awarded the 2001 Political Nurse Activist Award by the Michigan Nurse’s Association (MNA).

Johnson, who also serves as president of United American Nurses (UAN), the labor arm of the American Nurse’s Association (ANA), was recognized for her work in advocating improved working conditions for nurses both in Michigan and across the nation.