The University Record, November 19, 2001

Proposed new Regents’ bylaw on the Life Sciences Institute

Editor’s Note: The following is a proposed new Regents’ Bylaw. Feedback must be received by Dec. 3 in the Office of the Vice President and Secretary of the University. Send e-mail to or a fax to (734) 763-8011.

Sec. 13.15 Life Sciences Institute

The Life Sciences Institute shall be maintained for the purpose of research, service and teaching in the life sciences and related disciplines. The institute shall be a distinct academic unit with reporting and governance structures that ensure academic excellence and academic integration with the University community.

The institute shall be under the direction of a director or co-directors, responsible to the president and appointed by the Board on the recommendation of the president. The director or co-directors shall be assisted by an executive committee. The executive committee shall consist of the director or co-directors of the institute, the president, the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs, and the executive vice president for medical affairs, all ex officio, two deans, two faculty members from the institute, and two faculty members from the university at large, appointed by the Board on recommendation of the president. The appointed members of the executive committee shall be broadly representative of the life sciences or other disciplines related to the activity of the institute. The appointed members shall hold office for three years and shall not be eligible for reappointment until after the lapse of one year. The initial terms will be adjusted so that two shall expire each year. The director or co-directors of the institute shall chair the executive committee.