The University Record, October 1, 2001

Faculty awards honor 22 for teaching, scholarship, service

By Mary Jo Frank
Office of the Vice President for Communications

Twenty-two University of Michigan faculty members will be recognized for their teaching, scholarship, service and creative activities at a dinner Oct. 3. Awards to be presented include four Distinguished University Professorships, four Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards, five Faculty Recognition Awards, two Amoco Foundation Teaching Awards, a Distinguished Research Scientist Award, a Research Scientist Achievement Award, two Research Scientist Recognition Awards, a University Press Book Award and two Distinguished Faculty Governance Awards.

Distinguished University Professorships will be presented to the following:

  • Patricia Gurin, the Nancy Cantor Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Women’s Studies; chair and professor of psychology; professor of women’s studies; and faculty associate, Research Center for Group Dynamics, Institute for Social Research (ISR).

  • Richard O. Lempert, the Eric Stein Distinguished University Professor of Law and Sociology; professor of law and of sociology; faculty associate, ISR’s Survey Research Center; and founding director of the Life Sciences, Values and Society Program.

  • Kenneth E. Warner, the Avedis Donabedian Distinguished University Professor of Public Health; professor of health management and policy; and director, U-M Tobacco Research Network.

  • Karl E. Weick, the Rensis Likert Distinguished University Professor of Organizational Behavior and Psychology and professor of organizational behavior and of psychology.

    Distinguished University Professors are scholars of great depth and breadth, as well as outstanding teachers and mentors. They also are generous in their service to their disciplines, to their schools and colleges, and to the University.

    Distinguished University Professors receive annual supplements of $3,000 for salary and $5,000 for research. Upon retirement, they become Distinguished University Professors Emeriti and the stipends end.

    Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards, which recognize extraordinary achievements in teaching, scholarly research or creative endeavors, will be presented to four faculty: Jonathan Freedman, professor of English and of American studies; Kang Geun Shin, professor of electrical engineering and computer science and director, Real-Time Computing Laboratory; Tobin Siebers, professor of English language and literature and director of the Program in Comparative Literature and of the Global Ethnic Literatures Seminar; and Dennis J. Thiele, professor of biological chemistry. Each recipient will receive a $1,500 stipend.

    Five faculty will receive Faculty Recognition Awards: Carol A. Fierke, professor of chemistry and of biochemistry and faculty associate, Biophysics Research Division; Sandra Gunning, associate professor in the Program in American Culture, the Center for Afroamerican and African Studies, and the Department of English; Ben Margolis, professor of internal medicine and of biological chemistry and associate investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Khalil Najafi, professor of electrical engineering and computer science and of biomedical engineering, director of the Solid-State Electronics Laboratory, and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; and Patricia Yaeger, professor of English and of women’s studies.

    Faculty Recognition Award recipients have made substantive contributions to the University through significant achievements in research and other scholarly activities; demonstrated excellence in teaching, advising and mentoring; and have participated in service activities. Each recipient will receive a $1,000 stipend.

    Amoco Foundation Faculty Teaching Awards, which recognize excellence in undergraduate education, will go to Peter M. Chen, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, and John C. Mitani, associate professor of anthropology. Award criteria include the array of courses taught, the development of new courses or revitalization of existing courses, and the strength of the faculty member’s advising and mentoring skills related to undergraduate teaching. The award stipend is $1,000.

    Michael Sivak, senior research scientist and head of the Human Factors Division, Transportation Research Institute, will receive the Distinguished Research Scientist Award. The award recognizes a research scientist or senior research scientist for exceptional scholarly achievement: the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge, the development of innovative technology, or the development of concepts that lead to significant advances in science, education, health, the arts or humanities. The award also recognizes exceptional ability to convey the excitement and significance of scholarship and creative activities to the educated public. Sivak will receive $3,000 and a grant of $2,000 per year for four years. He also will be invited to give a public lecture.

    The Research Scientist Achievement Award, which carries a $1,500 stipend, will be presented to Jeffrey Alt, research scientist, Department of Geological Sciences. The Research Scientist Achievement Award recognizes outstanding scholarly achievements, including the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge, the development of innovative technology, or the development of concepts that lead to advances in science, education, health, the arts or humanities.

    The Research Scientist Recognition Award will be presented to John E. Schulenberg, senior research scientist at the Survey Research Center in ISR, professor of psychology, and research scientist at the Center for Human Growth and Development; and John F. Whitaker, research scientist, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. The award recognizes exceptional scholarly promise in primary research faculty. Schulenberg and Whitaker each will receive $1,000.

    Eric Stein, the Hessel E. Yntema Professor Emeritus of Law, will receive the University Press Book Award for his book Thoughts from a Bridge: A Retrospective of Writings on New Europe and American Federalism (U-M Press, 2000). He will receive $1,000.

    The late Jacqueline E. Lawson, associate professor of English at the U-M-Dearborn, and Ronald J. Lomax, professor emeritus of electrical engineering and computer science, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Governance Award, which recognizes faculty governance participation over a period of several years, with an emphasis on Universitywide service. Each award is for $750.