The University Record, October 8, 2001


School of Music faculty honored

James Aikman and Susan Botti, assistant professors of music, Theodore E. Morrison, associate professor of conducting, and Bright Z. Sheng, professor of music, were chosen as ASCAPLU$ Standard Award recipients for 2001–02. The cash awards,—given by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers—reflect a continuing commitment to assist and encourage writers of serious music.

Berger recognized for leadership

Carl F. Berger, professor of science and technology education and director of Advanced Academic Technology, Collaboratory for Advanced Research and Academic Technologies (CARAT), has been awarded the 2001 EDUCAUSE Award for Leadership in Information Technologies. EDUCAUSE is a non-profit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology.

One of its most prestigious awards EDUCAUSE’s Award for Leadership honors visionary achievements and effectiveness in identifying and advancing technology directions for the various needs of higher education. As part of this award, EDUCAUSE will make a $2,000 contribution in Berger’s name to the CARAT Fellowship of the Rackham School of Graduate Studies.

Programs receive CASE awards

Two U-M programs received Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Circle of Excellence awards. The Michigan Road Scholars program earned a gold medal in the special events category, and the Life Sciences Initiative Web site,, received a silver medal award in the Web site category.

Michigan Road Scholars is a week-long bus tour taking faculty through the state to meet with local community leaders. Participants are invited to apply for seed money for research projects which stem from their experiences on the tour.

Marketing Communications created the Life Sciences Initiative Web site. The award was given based on the content, design, ease of navigation and writing of the site.

Lougee honored by MLA

Wendy P. Lougee, associate director of Digital Library Services and librarian at the University Library, received the 2001 Walter H. Kaiser Memorial Award by the Michigan Library Association (MLA). The Kaiser award is presented by the MLA to a librarian, trustee or person associated with libraries and with the broad educational goals of librarianship who contributes an idea, procedure, concept or adaptation that results in the improvement of a library or libraries.

The award committee stated, “Through the unique combination of initiative, creativity, vision and leadership, Lougee has shaped the University of Michigan’s digital program from a mere concept to the nationally renowned Michigan Digital Library Program. Wendy has employed great entrepreneurial skill during a time of dramatic change in scholarly communications and librarianship.”

Jamerson elected to ISHIB board

Kenneth A. Jamerson, associate professor of internal medicine, has been elected to a one-year term on the board of trustees for the International Society on Hypertension in Blacks (ISHIB). The society is devoted to researching hypertension, cardiovascular health and ethnicity.

Nör wins prestigious award

Dr. Jacques Nör, assistant professor of restorative science and endodontics, has won the New Dentist Scientist Award from the American Dental Association Health Foundation. Nör received the award for his research on how blood vessel survival affects the growth of oral tumors.

Established in 1995, the award provides funds to help the recipient advance their research career.

Ruffin works for scout jamboree

Mack T. Ruffin, associate professor of family medicine and assistant research scientist of epidemiology, served as the chief medical officer for the National Scout Jamboree Visitors Medical Center July 23–Aug. 4. He has been part of the health safety staff there since 1981. More than 40,000 scouts attended the jamboree, representing 26 countries.

Business School awarded by NBMBAA

The Business School was selected by the National Black MBA Association Inc. (NBMBAA) as the 2001 recipient of the NBMBAA Outstanding Educational Institution of the Year award. This distinguished award is presented to an institution that has made the greatest contribution towards encouraging Blacks to enter the business field.

Edington earns lifetime achievement award

Dee Edington, professor of kinesiology and research scientist for health behavior and health education development, received the 2001 Vern Seefeldt Lifetime Achievement Award from the Governor’s Council on Physical Fitness, Health and Sports.

This award recognizes individuals who have made landmark contributions to the health of Michigan residents through research, teaching, professional practice or volunteer involvement related to physical activity or fitness. Only one statewide award is given each year.

Athletic director takes a Mulligan

Bill Martin, U-M athletic director, received the Mr. Mulligan Award in recognition of his and the athletic department’s support of C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital. It was presented jointly by the Child and Family Life Department of Mott Hospital and Oliver/Hatcher Construction and Development Company.