The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
search Updated: 5:00 p.m. EDT -- 21 October 2002


news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us

contact us

Leichtman chair of UNOS committee

Dr. Alan Leichtman, medical director of kidney and transplantation and associate professor of nephrology, has been appointed chair of the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS)/Kidney Transplantation Committee. Leichtman had been vice-chair since 2000. The committee also serves the Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network (OPTN). The committee is charged with considering medical, scientific and ethical aspects related to kidney and pancreas organ procurement, allocation and sharing. In addition to his UNOS duties, Leichtman has served as an expert member on the State of Michigan Certificate of Need Transplant Service Ad Hoc Committee and the Michigan Department of Community Health Certificate of Need Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Pancreas Transplantation.

Business researchers net NSF grant

Joni L. Jones, assistant professor in the School of Business Administration, along with four other researchers, has been awarded a National Science Foundation Information Technology Research Grant. The group’s $1.5 million project, “Multiattribute Negotiation for Dynamic Supply Chains,” runs from 2002–06 and will focus on multiattribute negotiation mechanisms and decision support tools for dynamic, multi-level supply chains.

Robillard given pediatric award

Dr. Jean Robillard, professor and chair of the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases, has been presented with the Founders’ Award by the Midwest Society for Pediatric Research. The award recognizes Robillard’s advances in pediatric research and his contributions to the career development of pediatricians. His research has focused on developmental renal physiology, regulation of blood pressure during development, and the mechanics of arterial and cardiopulmonary reflexes. In 1998, Dr. Laurence A. Boxer, professor and associate chair of Pediatrics-Hematology/Oncology, was honored with the award, making the U-M Health System the only institution in the Midwest with two faculty members as recipients of the Founders’ Award. Robillard also was elected recently to serve a six-year term on the board of directors of the American Board of Pediatrics.

Masten in “Who’s Who” of economics

Scott Masten, professor in the School of Business Administration, has been selected for inclusion in “Who’s Who in Economics,” a book that lists influential economists worldwide from the year 1700 to the present, including approximately 1,200 living economists selected on the basis of the usefulness of their research as measured by the Social Science Citation Index.

Spreitzer joins editorial board

Gretchen Spreitzer, clinical professor in the School of Business Administration, has been invited to join the editorial board of Organizational Science, one of the top journals in organizational studies. She also was elected to become the incoming program chair for the Organization Development and Change Division of the National Academy of Management meetings. In addition, Spreitzer had a paper accepted in the Journal of Organizational Behavior titled, “To Stay or Go: Voluntary Survivor Turnover Following an Organizational Downsizing.”

More stories