The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
Updated 1:00 PM June 24, 2003



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
contact us


Dr. Robert Bartlett professor of surgery, director of the surgical intensive care unit, and division chief, critical care—is the 2003 recipient of the Jacobson Innovation Award from the American College of Surgeons (ACS). The award, presented June 6 in Chicago, honors living surgeons or surgical teams who have been innovators of a new development or technique in any field of surgery. The award honors Bartlett for his work in the development and establishment of the first extracorporeal membrane oxygenation program.



Robert Bradley, chair and professor, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences, School of Dentistry, recently received the Maxwell M. Mozell Award for

Achievement in the Chemical Senses from the Association for Chemoreception Sciences (ACS) during the organization's 25th anniversary meeting. ACS gave Bradley its highest honor for his research contributions that seek to understand how neural connections for taste sensation are formed and how taste neurons in the brain function.





Noreen Clark, School of Public Health dean and the Marshall H. Becker Professor of Public Health, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Thoracic Society in May at the organization's annual meeting in Seattle. The award was given by the Behavioral Science Assembly to honor Clark's contributions to control of respiratory disease, and it recognizes her research and service in the field.




The New York University Division of Nursing's John A. Hartford Foundation Institute for Geriatric Nursing has named U-M's Kimberlee Gretebeck, assistant professor of nursing, and Cynthia Beel-Bates, a lecturer in the U-M School of Nursing, fellows in its 2003 Geriatric Nursing Research Scholars and Fellows Program. Gretebeck and Beel-Bates are two of 12 nurses from the Midwest region selected for the program, which fosters new gerontological nursing researchers with the goal of improving the quality of health care for older adults. As part of the program, Gretebeck and Beel-Bates each will receive a $5,000 award towards their research efforts.


Dr. William Barsan, chair and professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, has been re-elected to another one-year term as chair of the Huron Valley Ambulance (HVA) board of trustees. Based in Ann Arbor, HVA is a nonprofit community ambulance service serving Washtenaw and western Wayne counties.

More stories