The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
search Updated 3:00 PM March 03, 2003



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
contact us
Faculty selected for the 2003 Michigan Road Scholars tour

Thirty U-M faculty, including a dean and an associate provost, will visit 14 cities as participants in this year's Michigan Road Scholars tour. This fifth annual traveling seminar on the state is April 28-May 2.

The five-day bus tour exposes the faculty, many of whom came to the University from other states and abroad, to Michigan's economy, government and politics, culture, educational systems, health and social issues, history and geography. Designed to increase mutual knowledge and understanding among the University and the people and communities of the state, the tour introduces participants to places the majority of U-M's students call home.

The tour encourages University service to the public, suggesting ways faculty can help address state and community issues through research, scholarship and creative activities.

The participants include faculty from 14 schools and colleges on the Ann Arbor campus, as well as representatives from the Flint and Dearborn campuses. There were 66 applicants.

"It was another outstanding field of applicants," says Earl Lewis, dean of the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies and chair of the selection committee. "It's encouraging that such a variety of disciplines are represented on the tour each year. It reflects the University's widespread commitment to serving the state. It also is a unique opportunity for faculty interaction that might not otherwise occur at such a large institution as ours."

This year's participants:

Taubman College of Architecture & Urban Planning

• Joseph Grengs, assistant professor

• Neal Robinson, lecturer

School of Art and Design

• Cynthia Pachikara, assistant professor

Business School

• Gale Amyx, program manager

School of Education

• Tiffany Marra, program manager

College of Engineering

• Bogdan Epureanu, assistant professor

Life Sciences, Values & Society Program

• Deb DeZure, director of programs

Division of Kinesiology

• Katarina Borer, professor


• Susan Najita, professor

• Derrick I.M. Gilbert, assistant professor

• Tim McKay, associate professor

• Ray Silverman, professor

• Warren Whatley, professor

• Barbara Morris, lecturer

• Peggy Wunderwald-Jensen, lecturer

• Terri Sarris, associate director/lecturer

Medical School

• Fred Blow, associate professor

• David Burke, associate professor

• Stephen Rowe, lecturer

School of Music

• Peter Sparling, professor

School of Natural Resources &Environment (SNRE)

• Gloria Helfand, associate professor

School of Nursing

• Elizabeth Allen, associate professor

• Oi-Saeng Hong, assistant professor

College of Pharmacy

• Chrisita Ackerman, assistant research scientist

Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy

• Kristin Seefeldt, senior research associate

University Library

• Karen Downing, librarian


• Vahid Lotfi, associate provost

• Austin Agho, dean


• Steve Padgett, assistant professor

• Kim Killu, associate professor

The tour is organized by staff in the Office of State Outreach in the Office of the Vice President for Government Relations. "The Road Scholars program has exposed faculty to many areas of this state where citizens face interesting challenges and issues on a daily basis, from economic development strategies to education reform to better health care and preservation of the environment," says Cynthia Wilbanks, vice president for government relations. "In this way, it is helping to heighten the University's awareness of the role it can play in the state as a knowledge resource, and strengthen its connections from Detroit to Grand Rapids and from Kalamazoo to the Upper Peninsula."

Participants are selected from applications submitted to a faculty committee headed by Lewis. Other committee members include: Rosina Bierbaum, dean of SNRE and a 2002 Road Scholar; Christina Whitman, professor of law, Law School; Lorraine Gutierre• , director of the Center for Learning through Community Service; Donald Lope• , associate dean for academic affairs, LSA; Lewis Morrissey, director of state outreach, Office of the Vice President for Government Relations; and David Lossing, associate director of state outreach, Office of the Vice President for Government Relations.

Lossing serves as tour director, with assistance from Richard Carter, also an associate director of state outreach. The Michigan Road Scholars Web site is

More stories