The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
Updated 3:00 PM May 8, 2003



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
contact us
SACUA moves forward with three new members

Six weeks after the election of three new members, the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) decided at its April 28 meeting to move forward with the election results after resolving faculty composition issues.

On March 17, the Senate Assembly elected Richard Gull, professor of philosophy at U-M-Flint; John Lehman, professor of biology and current secretary of the faculty; and Jens Zorn, professor of physics, to serve three-year terms on the committee May 1, 2003-April 30, 2006.

In the weeks following the election, SACUA members debated the make-up of the nine-person committee, which includes four members from LSAone more than suggested by Senate Assembly bylaws.

SACUA voted to send the election results back to the Senate Assembly for consideration, but the assembly failed to yield a quorum during its final meeting of the academic year April 21, and the group does not meet again until September.

SACUA had to move ahead with the election results because the terms of three members expired April 30. The SACUA office sent an e-mail message to all Senate Assembly members last week informing them of the committee's action.

SACUA Chair Charles Koopmann Jr. said it was necessary to keep the committee moving forward while important issues of University budget cuts and changes to faculty and staff benefits are being discussed.

"We could function with only six members, but we felt it was time to get this issue resolved," Koopmann said after SACUA met in executive session with candidates affected by the election's outcome. "We made every effort to get it resolved with Senate Assembly, and it was clear that [the results] were their wishes."

Gull is U-M-Flint's senior faculty member. He joined the University in 1965, when the Flint campus became a four-year institution. He earned three degrees from the University of Iowa, including a bachelor's degree in economics and master's and Ph.D degrees in philosophy. He serves on the Senate Assembly, Civil Liberties Board and editorial board of the Record's Faculty Perspectives Page.

Lehman has served as secretary of the faculty since 1994. A 1974 graduate of Yale University with a B.S./M.S. in biology, Lehman earned a Ph.D. in zoology from the University of Washington in 1978. He is a recipient of U-M's Henry Russel Award (1982) and Faculty Governance Award (1999).

Zorn, who earned an A.B. from Miami University in Ohio and a Ph.D. from Yale University, has served the University since 1962 and attained his current position of professor of physics in 1970. He has received the Faculty Achievement Award (1968), Distinguished Teaching Award (1992) and the Amoco Prize (1994). He served two terms on the Senate Assembly, 1994-96 and 1998-2001.

John Riebesell, associate professor of biology at U-M-Dearborn, assumes the position of vice-chair at the May 12 SACUA meeting. Koopmann was re-elected SACUA chair through 2004.

More stories