The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
Updated 3:00 PM May 8, 2003



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
contact us


Suzanne Baker has been named the first director of the Women's Resource Center (WRC) at U-M-Dearborn. Baker comes to the WRC from Creighton University, where she was assistant professor of anthropology and assisted in creating various services and programs directed at female students, faculty and staff.



Four staff members from the School of Public Health will receive the 2003 Recognizing Excellence in Staff Service Award May 6 at a reception in the Mosher Jordan Lounge: Jaclyn Cormany, (far left) student services assistant II, Health Behavior and Health Education; Nancy Francis, coordinator of professional education programs, Epidemiology; Anne Jackson, health sciences research associate II, Biostatistics; and Sandra Wiley, project associate I, Center for Population Planning.

Cormany Francis
Jackson Wiley


CRLT Grants

U-M supports innovative and creative teaching through a variety of grants administered by the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching. Three recently completed competitions provide more than $175,000 to fund 36 teaching projects.

The Teaching with Technology Institute is designed to fund innovative instructional technology projects. Winning faculty receive $2,500 and participate in an intensive, five-day institute in May designed to help them plan and develop projects, learn technology skills relevant to those projects, and share strategies and innovations with one another.

Participants are: Vicente Diaz, Program in American Culture, LSA; Larry Gant, School of Social Work; Doron Lamm, Department of Near Eastern Studies, LSA; Brenda Marshall, Department of English Language and Literature, LSA; and Julie Skurski, Department of Anthropology, LSA.

The Gilbert Whitaker Fund for the Improvement of Teaching is the provost's fund for groups of faculty focusing on large-scale issues such as planning and implementing curricular reform, developing a culture more supportive of undergraduate or graduate teaching or mentorship, and creating new interdisciplinary educational experiences for students. Winners receive up to $10,000 in the first year of the grant and can apply for one of three second-year continuation grants of up to $15,000.

Recipients are: Michael Falk, Materials Science and Engineering; Dee Fenner, Medical School; Kim Hayes and Steven Skerlos, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering; Nancy Konigsberg Kerner, Department of Chemistry; Helene Neu, Romance Languages and Literatures; Cornelia Porter, School of Nursing; Beth Glover Reed, School of Social Work; David Scobey, Arts of Citizenship; and John Swales, English Language Institute.

The Lecturers' Professional Development Fund is the provost's fund designed to foster the professional growth of lecturers at U-M. Grants of up to $2,000 are awarded for a wide range of activities, including creative endeavors, research, scholarship and teaching.

Recipients are: Sandy Attia, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning (TCAUP); Eli Bleiler, School of Education; Antonius Broos, LSA; Anselmo Canfora, TCAUP; Margaret Dean, LSA; Karunakaran Krishnamoorthy, LSA; Josepha Kurdziel, LSA; Ruth Leney-Midkiff, School of Music; Jody Lori, School of Nursing; Monica Lypson, Medical School; Donka Markus, LSA; Patricia McCloud, School of Nursing; Gisela Mueller, Medical School; S. Hashim Nainar, School of Dentistry; Helene Neu, LSA; Sandra Paliach, LSA; Robert Sulewski, College of Engineering; Kristine Synnes, TCAUP; Veronika Szabo, LSA; Janet Van Valkenburg, LSA; Patricia Whitesell, LSA; and Audrey Wu, Medical School.

More stories