The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 12:00 PM February 2, 2004



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
22 Hopwood winners announced

The University has announced 22 winners of the Avery and Jule Hopwood Awards in Creative Writing, the nation's oldest competitions for student writers.

The awards are funded by a bequest from Avery Hopwood, a 1905 U-M graduate and successful Broadway playwright, and Jule Hopwood, his mother. Past winners include Arthur Miller, John Ciardi and Marge Piercy. The contests were judged by John Lofy, LSA lecturer I; Brenda Marshall, LSA lecturer III; Angela Bommarito, School of Social Work student; and Joseph Heininger, LSA lecturer I.

Winners of the Hopwood Underclassmen Contest and in the poetry division are:

Robyn Anspach of Ann Arbor, $1,750, Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship

Uyen Bui of Solon, Ohio, $1,000, Fall Hopwood Fiction Contest

Jeremiah Chamberlin of Ann Arbor, $1,500, Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship

Jeffrey Cravens of Lawrence, Kan., $500, Fall Hopwood Fiction Contest

Steven Dabrowski of Park Ridge, Ill., $1,500, Roy W. Cowden Memorial Scholarship

Carlin Danz of Wyandotte, $700, Fall Hopwood Fiction Contest

Sarah Eisenberg of Gregory, $800, Fall Hopwood Poetry Contest

Irene Hahn of Woodbridge, Conn., $1,750, Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship

Suzanne Hancock of Qualicum, British Columbia, Canada, $350, The Michael R. Gutterman Award in Poetry

Hannah Holtzman of Ann Arbor, $1,250, Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship

Donovan Hohn of Ann Arbor, $1,250, Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship; $100, The Academy of American Poets, Graduate Division

Rachael Hudak of Lake Orion, $700, Fall Hopwood Poetry Contest

Margaret LeDuc of Washington, $800, Fall Hopwood Essay Contest

Miriam Tova Levine of Huntington Woods, $800, Fall Hopwood Fiction 'Contest

Caroline Martin of Grosse Pointe Woods, $500, Fall Hopwood Poetry Contest

Erin Morris of Ypsilanti, $800, Fall Hopwood Poetry Contest

Esther Neff of Goshen, Ind., $250, Michael R. Gutterman Award in Poetry; $500, Jeffrey L. Weinberg Memorial Prize in Poetry

Michael Pifer of Kalamazoo, $1,250, for two essays in Fall Hopwood Contest

Ranya Raghavan of Briarcliff, N.Y., $700 in Fall Hopwood Essay Contest; $400, Jeffrey L. Weisberg Memorial Prize in Poetry

Michelle Regalado Deatrick of Ann Arbor, $200, The Bain-Swiggett Poetry Prize

Rachel Richardson of Berkeley, Calif., $200, The Bain-Swiggert Poetry Prize

Sarah Rubin of Howell, $100, The Academy of American Poets, Undergraduate Division

More Stories