The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM August 9, 2004



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us


Two staff members received awards from the Washtenaw-Livingston-Monroe Nurse Association, Chapter 8, June 16. Desiree Blake, an educational nurse specialist in the U-M Health System, was given the 2004 Nurse of the Year Award for exemplary practice, leadership, education and service. Cynthia Beel-Bates, a lecturer in the School of Nursing, received the Outstanding Nurse Leader Award for her "contributions to public policy development in Michigan, for advancing gerontological research and nursing practice, for her work in protecting frail and vulnerable elders, and for leadership within the association."

Dr. Susan Blitz, clinical assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, has been given the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners State Award for Excellence for dedication as a nurse practitioner advocate and her significant contributions to the status of health care delivery and practice of nurse practitioners.


Dr. Ryan Charbeneau, a fellow in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, received a $40,000 grant from GlaxoSmithKline for his research entitled, "The Modulation and Function of Leukotriene Receptors in Bleomycin-induced Pulmonary Fibrosis in Mice."

Suman Das, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, and Muammer Koc, assistant research scientist in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, each has received the 2004 M. Eugene Merchant Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers.

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) has awarded Sridhar Kota, professor of mechanical engineering, its 2004 Machine Design Award. According to ASME, the award recognizes "eminent achievement in machine design synthesis, including contributions to such diverse fields as rigid tool kinematics, compliant mechanisms, micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS), adaptive structures and reconfigurable machine tools."

Victor Li, professor of civil and environmental engineering, and materials science and engineering, received an honorary doctorate degree from the Technical University of Denmark April 30.


Dr. Edward Domino, active emeritus professor of pharmacology, has been made an honorary staff member of the Shanghai Clinical Center for Endocrine and Metabolic Diseases at the University of Shanghai, China, for his contributions to U-M/University of Shanghai teaching and research activities.


Stephen Hipkiss, assistant administrative manager, facilities, in Library Administrative Services, recently was named to the Department of Public Safety Oversight Committee. The committee considers grievances against any public safety officer deputized by the University.

Dr. Valerie Castle—pediatric oncologist and professor and chair of the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Disease—and Dr. Gary Freed—director of pediatrics and child health delivery in the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases and associate chair of the Division of General Pediatrics Primary Care and Community Pediatrics—recently were elected to the Society for Pediatric Research Council (SPRC). Castle will serve the council in hematology/oncology, and Freed as SPRC vice president, through May 2007.



More Stories