The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 11:30 AM October 27, 2003



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us


Nancy Allee, director of Public Health Informatics Services & Access, has been named to the National Library of Medicine/Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries Leadership Fellows program. The program is designed to prepare emerging leaders in health sciences information who have a demonstrated record of leadership initiative and potential.


Dr. Valerie Castle, pediatric oncologist and chair of the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases, has been chosen to receive the 2003 RARE Foundation Award for Healthcare Excellence. The foundation's mission is to "recognize achievement and


reward excellence" by identifying people in the local working community who set exceptional examples for today's youth. Castle will receive the award today (Oct. 27) at a ceremony that will feature a presentation spotlighting her life and career accomplishments. A ceremony to honor recipients of the 2003 John H.D'Arms Faculty Awards for Distinguished Graduate Mentoring in the Humanities and of the 2003 Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Awards will be Oct. 28 in the Vandenberg Room of the Michigan League.

Recipients of the D'Arms Awards are: David Cohen, professor of history, anthropology and social sciences (Residential College), LSA; Carroll Smith-Rosenberg, Alice Freeman Palmer Professor of History and professor of American culture, history and women's studies, LSA; and J. Roland Wiley, professor of music.

Recipients of the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Awards are: John Bernat, human genetics; Benedicte Boisseron, romance languages & literatures; Alaine Camfield and Matthew Dietz (joint award), natural resources; Remy Debes, philosophy; Vera Eremeeva, Germanic languages & literatures/Slavic languages & literatures; J. Paul Hamilton, psychology; Michael Hanmer, political science; Julica Hermann, sociology; Dana Infante, natural resources; William Jenkins, psychology; Colin Johnson, American culture; Herman Kamil, economics; Jennifer Karlin, industrial & operations engineering; Jennifer May Lee School of Information; Maureen McDonnell, women's studies; Megan McGuigan, chemistry; Joseph Peschio, Slavic languages & literatures; Ilka Rasch, Germanic languages & literatures; Mario Ruiz, history; Charles Samenow, public health; and Ping-Cheng (Benson) Yeh, electrical engineering & computer science.

The Record welcomes submissions for Accolades, including photographs. Publication is at the discretion of the editor. Please send entries to

More Stories