The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 3:00 PM May 2, 2005




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us
Coleman appoints provost search committee

President Mary Sue Coleman on April 19 announced members of the search advisory committee for the position of provost and executive vice president for academic affairs.

James S. Jackson, director of the Institute for Social Research and the Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology, will chair the committee, which has been charged with conducting a national search to identify candidates for the position.

Provost Paul N. Courant, who has served as the University's chief academic officer since 2002, will return to the faculty Aug. 31, when his current term ends.

Committee members are: Sashai Alvarez; undergraduate student, LSA; Deborah Loewenberg Ball; William H. Payne Collegiate Professor in Education and director of teacher education, School of Education; Stanley Berent; professor of psychology, departments of Psychiatry and Neurology, Medical School, and LSA; Evan Caminker; dean and professor of law, Law School; Michael Cohen; William D. Hamilton Collegiate Professor of Complex Systems, Information and Public Policy, School of Information, professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, and professor of political science, LSA; Rodney Ewing, Donald R. Peacor Collegiate Professor of Geological Sciences, LSA, professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences, and professor of materials science and engineering, College of Engineering (CoE); David Ginsburg, James V. Neel Distinguished University Professor of Internal Medicine and Human Genetics, Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine, Medical School, and research professor, Life Sciences Institute; Linda Gregerson, Frederick G. L. Huetwell Professor and professor of English, LSA; John Laird, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, CoE; Peggy Norgren, associate vice president for finance; Judith Pitney, director of budget and planning, CoE; Marianetta Porter, associate professor of art, School of Art & Design; Pamela Raymond, professor of cell and developmental biology, Medical School, and senior counselor to the provost; Nicole Stanton, graduate student, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, Program in American Culture, LSA.

The committee welcomes suggestions for internal or external candidates by e-mail to, or by writing to James S. Jackson, Chair; Provost Search Advisory Committee, c/o Office of the President, 2080 Fleming Administration Building, Campus Zip 1340.

Information also can be faxed to (734) 936-3529.

More Stories