The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 5:30 PM January 20, 2005




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us
Regents Roundup

Editor's note: The following actions were taken by the Board of Regents at its December meeting.

East Ann Arbor CT/MRI facility expanding

An addition on the north end of the East Ann Arbor Health Center will house two new imaging rooms for CT and MRI. (Photo by Plant Extension)

The schematic design was approved for a one-story addition on the north end of the East Ann Arbor Health Center to house two new imaging rooms for computed tomography and magnetic resonance imaging. The 6,700-gross-square-foot addition is scheduled to be completed next fall. The project, which will be funded from Hospital and Health Centers' resources, is estimated to cost $7.2 million, which includes $3.5 million for equipment. The design, which continues the existing building design, was created by Albert Kahn Associates, the original building architect.

Three buildings to receive alarm system upgrades

The fire alarm systems in three buildings will be upgraded during the next year—W.K. Kellogg Institute and Dental Building, the Intramural Sports Building (IMSB), and Couzens Hall.

The projects at the W.K. Kellogg Institute and Dental Building as well as the IMSB also will include installation of fire suppression systems, commonly referred to as sprinkler systems. Investment proceeds will fund both projects, estimated to cost $2.6 million and $1.3 million, respectively.

Alarm system upgrades at Couzens Hall, a project that is part of the Residential Life Initiatives, will include a significant increase in the number of resident rooms outfitted to alert people with hearing impairments. The project, estimated to cost $950,000, will be funded from University Housing resources and investment proceeds.

Changes to U-M-Flint departments approved

The Department of Music and Art at U-M-Flint is being renamed the Department of Music, and the Art Program is being moved to join with the current Department of Communication. The new name is the Department of Communication and Visual Arts. The department will include approximately nine tenure-track faculty and two lecturers.

Faculty appointments with tenure

Wei Shyy, professor of aerospace engineering, with tenure, and chair, Department of Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering, effective Jan. 1, 2005.

Named professorships

Dr. Ramon Berguer, correction of a professorship appointment as the Frankel Professor of Cardiovascular Surgery, Medical School, effective Nov. 1, 2004-Oct.31, 2009.

Katsumi Nakao, Toyota Visiting Professor of Japanese Studies, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2005-April 30, 2005.

Edward Silver, William A. Brownell Collegiate Professor in Education, School of Education, effective Dec. 1, 2004-Nov. 30, 2009.

Janet Smith, Margaret J. Hunter Collegiate Professor in the Life Sciences, Medical School, effective Jan. 1, 2005-Dec. 31, 2009.

Administrative appointments

Thomas Herbert, assistant vice president for development, Office of the Vice President for Development, effective Jan. 17, 2005.


Rose Casement, chair, Department of Education, School of Education and Human Services, effective Jan.1, 2005-Jan.1, 2007.


Rashid Bashshur, project director of Clinical Information Systems in the U-M Hospitals Telemedicine Program and professor of health management and policy, effective May 31, 2004. Bashshur joined the University in 1963. He conducted some of the earliest research on the determinants of choice health plans by individuals for whom prepaid group practice plans were among the options. He has devoted his full energy to telemedicine for the last six years.

John Bilello, professor of materials science and engineering in the College of Engineering, effective Dec. 31, 2004. He joined U-M in 1989. He is recognized as an expert in the use of high-intensity x-ray diffraction imaging, microdiffraction, grazing angle incidence scattering and other techniques as a tool for non-destructive materials characterization. These techniques have been used to study a wide range of problems in metals, alloys and semiconductors.

George Carignan, research scientist in the Space Physics Research Laboratory in the College of Engineering, interim director of the Sea Grant Program in the School of Natural Resources and Environment and faculty associate in the Office of the Vice President for Research, effective March 31, 2004. Carignan joined the University in 1959. He has been active in experimental research in earth and planetary exploration with particular emphasis on the application of langmuir probes and mass spectrometers.

Robert Gray, professor of environmental health sciences and research scientist in the School of Public Health, effective Dec. 31, 2004. Gray joined the University in 1969. His main interests and expertise have been in the area of toxicologic pathology and the use of ultrastructural comparisons made by electron microscopy to characterize cellular and tissue responses of selected environmental contaminants and pharmaceutical agents.

Dr. Lazar Greenfield, professor of surgery in the Medical School, effective Nov. 30, 2004. He joined the University in 1987 and chaired the Department of Surgery for 15 years. From 2002-03, he served as interim executive vice president for medical affairs. He developed a surgery program that rose to rank fourth in research funding from the National Institutes of Health. He is recognized as an expert in vascular surgery and developed an intracaval filter device for preventing pulmonary embolism that bears his name.

William Hosford Jr., professor of materials and metallurgical engineering in the College of Engineering, effective Dec. 31, 2004. He joined U-M in 1963. He is recognized as an expert in the areas of mechanical properties and metal forming. He has published more than 75 articles and two textbooks. In 1998, he received the Albert Easton White Distinguished Teacher Award for his long and devoted service to the field of materials science and engineering.

Ejner Jensen, professor of English language and literature in LSA, effective Dec. 31, 2004. Jensen joined the University in 1964. His interests have extended beyond the drama of the English renaissance through his influential reflections on the education of young people and how they should experience poetry, drama and fiction. In the 1980s, he joined a team organized by the College Board to recommend practices for Advanced Placement courses in high school.

Lewis Kleinsmith, professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology in LSA, effective Dec. 31, 2004. He joined U-M in 1968. Kleinsmith made one of the earliest attempts to reveal the mechanism of gene regulation. His work helped improve the understanding of the molecular changes underlying cancer development. He is the author of an introductory cell biology textbook that now is in its fifth edition.

Gerard Mourou, A.D. Moore Distinguished University Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, and director of the Center for Ultrafast Optical Science in the College of Engineering, effective Dec. 31, 2004. Mourou joined U-M in 1988. In 1991, he founded the Ultrafast Science Laboratory, now the National Science Foundation Science and Technology Center for Ultrafast Optical Science, and has directed the center since its inception.

More Stories