The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM July 10, 2006




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Dr. Peter Polverini, dean of the School of Dentistry, was one of 15 honorees to receive the International Association for Dental Research Distinguished Scientist Award during the association's 84th annual meeting June 28 in Brisbane, Australia. The award recognizes his work in oral medicine and pathology.

Paul Kileny has received a Presidential Citation from the American Otological Society. Kileny is a professor in the Department of Otolaryngology and the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases at the U-M Health System. He also is director of audiology, electrophysiology and the Hearing Rehabilitation Program.

Wang Zheng, associate professor of Women's Studies, associate research scientist for the Institute for Research on Women and Gender, and a faculty associate in the Center for Chinese Studies, has won the 2005 Berkshire Best Article Prize for her article "'State Feminism'? Gender and Socialist State Formation in Maoist China," in Feminist Studies, Vol. 31, No. 3 (Fall 2005): 519-551.

Alexandra Minna Stern, assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology and American culture, and associate director of the Center for the History of Medicine, has been awarded the 2006 Arthur Viseltear Award from the Medical Care Section of the American Public Health Association for her book "History of Public Health in America for Eugenic Nation: Faults and Frontiers of Better Breeding in Modern America."

Fawwaz T. Ulaby, the Arthur F Thurnau Professor, R. Jamison and Betty Williams Professor of Engineering and professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering, has been named the recipient of the 2006 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Edison Medal for his research in microwave and radar technologies and their environmental and industrial applications. The award was presented June 24 in Minneapolis, Minn.

Phillip E. Converse, the Robert C. Angell Distinguished Professor of Sociology and Political Science emeritus and former director (1986-1989) of the Survey Research Center at the Institute for Social Research, known for his insights into U.S. voting behavior, was presented June 8 with an honorary Doctor of Laws degree by Harvard University.

Dr. N. Reed Dunnick, professor and chair of the Department of Radiology, is one of three recipients of the American Roentgen Ray Society's highest award, the Gold Medal for Distinguished Service to Radiology. Dunnick received the award at a recent ceremony held during the society's 106th annual meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia.


More Stories