The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 1:00 PM October 4, 2005




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us

7 students win Hopwood, Rapaport awards

Seven U-M students split $5,450 in prizes during the summer term Avery and Jule Hopwood Awards in Creative Writing and the Marjorie Rapaport Award in Poetry.

The awards are among the nation's oldest contests for student writers, supported by a bequest from Avery Hopwood, a 1905 U-M alumnus and successful Broadway playwright, and Jule Hopwood, his mother.

The Hopwood program will celebrate its 75th anniversary this spring. The latest round of honorees will join a long line of highly regarded U-M graduates, including Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Arthur Miller, poet John Ciardi and novelist/poet Marge Piercy.

Another Hopwood winner, Elizabeth Kostova, currently has her debut novel, "The Historian" near the top of the New York Times Bestsellers list.

The winners from Michigan are: Alice Fornell of Ann Arbor, Summer Hopwood Fiction, $1,250; Bradley Lubin of Bloomfield Hills, Summer Hopwood Poetry, $1,000; Adam Wilmers of Huntington Woods, Summer Hopwood Essay, $800; Margaret Reges of Spring Lake, Marjorie Rapaport Award in Poetry, $350; and Carrie L. Luke of Ypsilanti, Marjorie Rapaport Award in Poetry, $250.

Out of state winners are: Claire Smith of Naperville, Ill, Summer Hopwood Poetry, $800; and Jeff Walton of Newton, Mass., Summer Hopwood Fiction, $1,000.

For more information, visit:

More Stories