The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 2:30 PM September 19, 2005




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Mark Opp, professor of anesthesiology and molecular and integrative physiology at the Medical School, became president-elect of the Sleep Research Society at the group's annual meeting June 20 in Denver. He will assume the office of president in June 2006.

Scott Fogler, an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and Vennema Professor of Chemical Engineering, received a 2005 Award for Lifetime Achievement in Chemical Engineering Pedagogical Scholarship from the American Society for Engineering Education.


James Grotberg, professor of biomedical engineering, recently was elected to the first class of fellows for the Biomedical Engineering Society, the primary professional society for biomedical engineering. The award recognizes his research in biofluid mechanics.

Terry Kammash, the Stephen S. Attwood Professor Emeritus and professor emeritus of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences, received the 2005 American Nuclear Society (ANS) Special Award for Space Nuclear Power at the ANS honors and awards luncheon in San Diego.

Susan Montgomery, a lecturer and undergraduate program advisor in the Department of Chemical Engineering, won the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Spread the Word 2004-05 award for the highest percentage of faculty maintained in the organization's North Central section. She received the award at the 2005 ASEE annual conference in Portland, Ore.

Kamal Sarabandi, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, has been selected to receive the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium Distinguished Achievement Award for 2005.

Wei Shyy, the Clarence L. "Kelly" Johnson Collegiate Professor of Aerospace Engineering, and chair of the Department of Aerospace Engineering, has been awarded the Heat Transfer Memorial Award for 2005. The award recognizes outstanding and archival contributions to the thermal sciences, and will be presented in November at the American Society of Mechanical Engineers International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition in Orlando.

Christine Freeman and Brian Rudd, pathology doctoral candidates, received 2005-06 Rackham predoctoral fellowships from the Horace H Rackham School of Graduate Studies. The fellowships are awarded annually to outstanding students who will complete their dissertations in the year in which they hold the fellowship, and who will complete their doctorate within six years of beginning their program.

Goncalo Abecasis, associate professor of biostatistics, has been awarded $240,000 and recognition as one of just 15 Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences. The Pew Scholars program was initiated by The Pew Charitable Trusts in 1985 as an award available to scientists to freely expand their research.

Dr. Darrell Campbell, Jr., the Henry King Ransom Professor of Surgery and assistant dean for clinical affairs at the Medical School, and chief of staff and senior associate director of the U-M Hospitals and Health Centers, won the Keystone Patient Safety & Quality Leadership Award from the Michigan Health & Hospital Association (MHA) July 27 at the MHA meeting on Mackinac Island.

Anne Carson, professor of classical studies, comparative literature and English language and literature, and a Canadian citizen, was appointed Aug. 29 by Adrienne Clarkson, governor general of Canada to the Order of Canada. The order was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement and service in various fields of human endeavor and is the country's highest honor for lifetime achievement.

Amy Cohn, assistant professor of industrial and operations engineering, has been selected as one of six young scholars to receive a Sloan Industry Studies Fellowship. She was among 51 scholars in the early stages of their careers selected based on their exceptional promise to advance knowledge of U.S. industrial development and economic competitiveness.

Luming Duan, assistant professor of physics, received the 2005 Outstanding Young Researcher Award given each year to young ethnic Chinese physicists outside of Asia in recognition of their outstanding achievements in the field.


Rod Little, the Richard D. Remington Collegiate Professor of Biostatistics, presented the Presidential Invited Address at the 2005 Joint Statistical Meetings in August. Little also recently was awarded the Wilks Medal for significant and pioneering contributions to the development of statistical methodology and for outstanding service to the academy and to the profession.

More Stories