The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM November 13, 2006




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Melanie Sanford, assistant professor of chemistry in LSA, is one of two recipients of the 2006 AstraZeneca Excellence in Chemistry Awards. Each year the pharmaceutical company presents two U.S. academic researchers with a $50,000 unrestricted research grant for their achievements in synthetic, mechanistic or bio-organic chemistry.

Toby Citrin, adjunct professor of health management and policy at the School of Public Health and director of community-based public health, is the recipient of the President's Lifetime Achievement Award conferred jointly by the leaders of the Michigan Association for Local Public Health and the Michigan Public Health Association. This award is reserved for an individual whose career in public health has been exemplary and leaves a legacy that is not likely to be matched by others in the field.

John Jackson, the M. Kent Jennings Collegiate Professor in Political Science, recently was honored with an award from the Polish Minister of Science and Higher Education for Jackson's co-authored book, "The Political Economy of Poland's Transtion: New Firms, and Reform Governments."

Stefanie Siegmund, associate professor of History and Judaic Studies, has been awarded the Herbert Baxter Adams Prize in European History for 2006 by the American Historical Association (AHA) for her book, "The Medici State and the Ghetto of Florence: The Construction of an Early Modern Jewish Community."

Dennis Borel, a 1974 U-M graduate and director of the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities who headed the group's Expedition to Everest 2003—depicted in a 19-minute DVD—was the winner of the Neubacher Award in ceremonies Oct. 27 at Forum Hall, Palmer Commons. Individuals with a University connection who have raised consciousness about disabilities received Certificates of Appreciation: Glen Ashlock, Cathy Frank, Carolyn Grawi, Brenda Gunderson, Gerald Hoff, Sadashi Inuzuka, Judith Levy, Craig Luck, Judith Smith, Denise Tate, Dale Ulrich, Meisha White, Neika White, Tomika White, William Winston and Duncan Wyeth. The Saul and Shirley Lederer Scholarship and the Wesley Smith Scholarship were awarded, and the family of Ed Loyer, the driving force behind the establishment of the Council for Disability, was presented with a plaque to commemorate Loyer's work. A full tuition scholarship in his name will be established for an incoming disabled student. The awards were presented by the Council for Disability Concerns.


More Stories