The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM Sept. 18, 2006




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Stephen R. Forrest, the William Gould Dow Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and vice president for research, has been named a co-recipient of the 2007 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Daniel E. Noble Award, for pioneering contributions to the development of organic light emitting diodes. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to emerging technologies.

Michael Wynne, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology and curator of algae for the U-M Herbarium, was this year's only recipient of the Phycological Society of America's Award of Excellence at the annual society meetings recently in Juneau, Alaska. Wynne's long-term interests are in systematics of marine algae. He has described more than two dozen new genera of marine algae from around the world including Alaska, Australia, Madagascar, Oman, Galapagos, California, the Caribbean and more.

Professor of Mathematics Gopal Prasad has been awarded the Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientists. This award is given to researchers with internationally recognized academic qualifications and honors the academic achievements of the award winner's lifetime. Award winners are invited to carry out research projects of their own choice in Germany in cooperation with colleagues.

Josephine Kurdziel, lecturer in biology and assistant research scientist, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, LSA, was honored for her course "Biology for Non-Scientists." It was designated an exemplary practice course, the highest designation awarded by a panel of national experts in biology. The course also was named one of the top examples of best practices in a national study of biology courses conducted by the Center for Educational Policy Research on behalf of the College Board of the University of Oregon.


More Stories