The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 4:00 PM January 25, 2008




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Deborah Dash Moore, director of the Frankel Center for Judaic Studies and Frederick G.L. Huetwell Professor of History, is among the leading historians and cultural experts featured in the ground-breaking documentary, "The Jewish Americans," produced in collaboration with the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. The final segment of the three-part documentary can be viewed locally on WFUM-TV at 9 p.m. Jan. 23.


Raoul Kopelman, the Richard Smalley Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, Physics and Applied Physics, recently received a $2.6 million Quantum Grant from the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB), part of the National Institutes of Health. The grant will support research aimed at improving brain cancer treatment by developing nanoparticles that selectively leave the blood and bind to cancer cells. Kopelman is one of four investigators receiving a total of $12 million from the program. His U-M collaborators on the project are Martin Philbert, professor of toxicology and senior associate dean for research in the School of Public Health (SPH); Alnawaz Rehemtulla, professor of radiology in the Medical School and professor of environmental health sciences, SPH; and Brian Ross, professor of radiology and of biological chemistry, and Oren Sagher, associate professor of neurosurgery and of anesthesiology, both in the Medical School.

U-M doctoral student David Benson is the recipient of a 2008 Kauffman Dissertation Fellowship. The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation recently announced that 16 fellowships in the amount of $20,000 each will be awarded to doctorate students engaged in the study of entrepreneurship at U.S. universities.

Sean Morrison, director of the U-M Center for Stem Cell Biology, recently won the 2008 Harland Winfield Mossman Award in recognition of remarkable discoveries in stem cell biology. He will be presented with the award April 8 in San Diego. Morrison's lab has identified a number of new mechanisms by which stem cells regulate self-renewing divisions, the process stem cells use to perpetuate themselves throughout life.


Professor Peter Chen, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, has been named a 2008 Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers for his contributions to fault-tolerant storage systems. Chen recently was awarded the 2007 Association for Computer Machinery Special Interest Group on Operating Systems Mark Weiser Award for his contributions to operating systems research. This award is presented to individuals whose work is deemed highly creative, innovative and possibly high-risk.


Jane Blumenthal, director of Health Sciences Libraries, has been elected to the board of directors of the Medical Library Association (MLA) for a three-year term beginning at the end of the MLA annual meeting May 16-21in Chicago. MLA is a nonprofit, educational organization with more than 4,500 health sciences information professional members worldwide.

Professor of Mathematics Robert Krasny has been elected a fellow of the American Physical Society in the Division of Fluid Dynamics. Election to fellowship in the APS is limited to no more than one half of one percent of its membership each year. Krasny was recognized for his achievements in advancing particle methods and tree-code algorithms to allow exceptionally precise computations of vortex dynamics, and his use of the resulting methods to increase understanding of phenomena in fluid flows.


More Stories