The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 11:50 AM October 25, 2007




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Katsuyo Thornton, assistant professor of materials science and engineering, College of Engineering, has been chosen as recipient of the 2008 Early Career Faculty Fellow Award. Her nomination recently was approved by The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society board of directors. The award is to be presented March 11 in New Orleans, La.


Scott Fogler, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Vennema Professor of Chemical Engineering and professor of chemical engineering, College of Engineering has been elected president of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. His term as president-elect will begin Jan. 1 and he will become president Jan. 1, 2009.

Bierbaum Griess Lupia

Four faculty members were inducted Oct. 6 into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Their honors were announced in May.Celebrated for their superior scholarship, artistic triumphs and exemplary service to society, the 227th class of Fellows included the following faculty members: Rosina Bierbaum, dean and professor of natural resources and environmental policy; Robert Griess Jr., professor of mathematics; Arthur Lupia, Hal R. Varian Collegiate Professor of Political Science; and David R. Williams, not pictured, Harold R. Cruse Professor of Sociology and director of the South Africa Initiatives Office.



More Stories