The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM September 21, 2007




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Dr. Anna Lok, a professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at the Medical Center, will receive the Hepatitis B. Foundation's 2008 Distinguished Scientist Award in April 2008. The foundation gives this award for outstanding contributions made to the science and medicine of hepatitis B.

Professor Panos Papalambros, jointly appointed in mechanical engineering and Art & Design, has been selected to receive The American Society of Mechanical Engineers Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Design Educator Award. The ASME established the award to recognize a person who exemplifies the best in furthering engineering design education through vision, interactions with students and industry, scholarship and impact on the next generation of engineers, and a person whose action serves as a role model for other educators.

The Center for Russian and East European Studies announces the Ronald and Eileen Weiser Professional Development Fellowship Awards for 2007. The program is made possible through a five-year gift from Ronald Weiser, U.S. Ambassador to Slovakia from 2001-04, and his wife, Eileen Lappin Weiser. These short-term travel awards are designed to stimulate collaborations in research and teaching between higher education faculty and artists in the Slovak Republic and U-M. U-M faculty receiving awards for research in Slovakia are: Matthew Biro, associate professor, history of art; Dr. Steven Donn, professor, Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases; Jindrich Toman, professor, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures; and Georgette Zirbes, professor, School of Art & Design.

Victor Yang, Department of Pharmaceutical Science, School of Pharmacy, will receive a Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award of $100,000 a year for three years for a study titled Synchronized MRI and Drug Therapy for Pediatric Brain Tumors. The foundation gives the award to fund early-stage, innovative and cutting-edge biomedical research to benefit children.

Dan Price, an assistant professor jointly appointed by the Residential College and the School of Art & Design, has been awarded a fellowship to work at Can Serrat for one month during 2008. He recently served as resident artist in sculpture at Can Serrat Centro de Actividades Artisticas, an artists and writers residency program in Montserrat National Park, El Bruc, Spain. Price has also been awarded a Spring/Summer Research Grant from the Rackham School of Graduate Studies to co-create a series of long-exposure photographs and modular sculptures. With Amy Harris, director of the Exhibit Museum of Natural History, Price has also been awarded a 2007-2008 Grant from the Public Goods Council of the Office of the Provost for the project The Museum Object and its Double. It allows students to use hand-carving techniques and a hand-held object scanner to create real and virtual models of museum artifacts.

Stephanie Kadison, a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, will receive a Hartwell Foundation fellowship, an award of $50,000 a year for two years. The fellowship program supports scientists in the early stages of biomedical research careers.

Assistant professor Danielle Abrams has been awarded a grant from the New York Foundation for the Arts in performance/cross-disciplinary work. Abrams recent and upcoming performance work includes her participation in July in "Dignitude," part of the NYC Celebration of Queer Culture at Dixon Place, and a November performance as part of "Drift" at Rush Arts Gallery in Chelsea, N.Y.


Melvin Lester, special assistant to the executive vice president for medical affairs for development of the Cardiovascular Center, was elected to the board of the University Musical Society at its recent annual meeting. Lester and other board members and officers began serving their appointments July 1.


More Stories