Michigan Radio, the public radio service from U-M, has been named Public Broadcasting Station of the Year for 2008 by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB). The award was announced at the MAB's recent annual Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference in Grand Rapids. This is the sixth year in a row Michigan Radio has won the honor, and the ninth time in the past 10. In addition to the Station of the Year award, Michigan Radio received 10 Broadcast Excellence awards, including three Best in Category awards and seven Merit awards. Michigan Radio is the state's most listened-to public radio service, attracting approximately 450,000 listeners each week across the southern half of Michigan's Lower Peninsula via broadcasts at 91.7 FM (WUOM) in southeastern Michigan, 91.1 FM (WFUM-FM) in Flint, and 104.1 FM (WVGR) in western Michigan.

This year's Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Foundation's McDevitt Excellence in Research Award in health policy goes to Richard Hirth and Scott Greer, School of Public Health professors of health management and policy, and their co-authors for "Out-of-Pocket Spending and Medication Adherence Among Dialysis Patients in 12 Countries." The paper appeared in the journal Health Affairs on Jan. 8, 2008. The McDevitt Excellence in Research Award is presented annually to the best health policy paper published by researchers from the state of Michigan. More information on the findings go to

James Le Moine, research laboratory specialist, has won the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program Recognition Award for Outstanding Research Mentorship. The award recognizes contributions to the mentorship and development of future young scientists and researchers. He was selected by a student selection committee. The award and $1,000 will be presented at the public UROP Research Appreciation Breakfast and Award Wednesday in the Great Lakes Room, Palmer Commons.