The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM February 2, 2009




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us

Ceremony to honor Sarah Goddard Power Award winners

Carol Boyd and Cinda-Sue Davis will receive the 2009 Sarah Goddard Power Award and the Academic Women's Caucus selection committee will present an honorary award to Regent Emerita Rebecca McGowan.

The 25th annual awards ceremony will take place at 4 p.m. Feb. 11 in the Michigan League Hussey Room.

Boyd is the director of the Institute for Research of Women and Gender and a professor of nursing and women's studies. The first woman to receive the Golden Apple Award for teaching undergraduates, Boyd established the gender and health program in the Women's Studies Department and acquired funding for the "Scholars in Transition Mentoring Program," which helps new Ph.D.s meet their career goals. A former director of the Substance Abuse Research Center, Boyd also is researching college students' substance abuse, focusing on gender differences in illicit drug use.

Committed to supporting women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM), Davis has directed the Women in Science and Engineering program since 1984 and works with the Women in Engineering ProActive Network to draw women to the field. As director of the M-STEM Academy, a combined program of the College of Engineering and LSA, she works to attract pre-college women to science and engineering. She also educates administrators and faculty about the challenges women face in these programs and has received numerous national awards for her efforts to promote women in the STEM field.

Described by her colleagues as "a politician, a servant of the people and a promoter of equity," McGowan twice has been elected to the Board of Regents and is a member of the Leadership Council of the Center for the Education of Women. As regent she advocated for the inclusion of sexual orientation and gender equity in the regents' nondiscrimination bylaw and supported the University's affirmative action policy. She also helped create the Childcare Task Force in 1996, which improved the University's childcare initiatives. Throughout her time at U-M, McGowan has promoted equity and inclusion for all members of the University community.

The Academic Women's Caucus, founded in 1975 by women working to overcome inequity issues in the workplace, aims to support academic women and presents the Sarah Goddard Power Award to distinguished faculty and senior administrative staff (including instructors, lecturers, primary researchers, librarians and curators) affiliated with the University. Awardees are nominated based on their contribution to the betterment of women through scholarship, leadership and service.

The award was established by the Academic Women's caucus in memory of Sarah Goddard Power, a former regent who was a strong advocate for women within the University. Its goal is to honor faculty members (including instructors, lecturers, primary researchers, librarians and curators) and senior administrative staff who have made significant contributions to the betterment of women at U-M and globally through distinguished leadership, scholarship or other activities related to their professions.

More Stories