The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM February 2, 2009




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Robert Megginson, associate dean for undergraduate and graduate education, LSA, and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Mathematics, has received the Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics from the Mathematical Association of America. The award honors distinguished contributions to mathematics and math education. Megginson was cited for helping underrepresented minorities succeed in math and science.

Joel Smoller, the Lamberto Cesari Collegiate Professor of Mathematics, has been awarded the 2009 George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics by the American Mathematical Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. Smoller was cited for his work in dynamical systems, differential equations, mathematical biology, shock wave theory and general relativity.

Julian Levinson, the Samuel Shetzer Professor of Jewish American Literature and associate professor of English, has been named one of the recipients of the 2008 National Jewish Book Awards for his book, "Exiles on Main Street: Jewish American Writers and American Literary Culture" (Indiana University Press). His book wins the American Jewish Studies: Celebrate 350 Award. The winners will be honored March 5 at the Center for Jewish History in Manhattan.

Dr. Gregory Wolf, professor of otorhinolaryngology, Department of Otolaryngology at the Medical School, has been named the recipient of the 2009 Albert C. Muse Prize. The prize recognizes Wolf's profound contributions to medicine through early and continuing leadership in clinical research. His leadership has provided the foundation for changing the standard therapy for patients suffering from advanced laryngeal cancers. Wolf's research has improved quality of life for countless Americans, according to the award citation.


More Stories