Diversity Leaders honored

Recipients of the inaugural Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award were celebrated at a breakfast ceremony in Palmer Commons recently.

The Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award was established to shine a light on staff members who work toward achieving a welcoming, supportive and inclusive working environment.

Individual awardees are: Charles Ransom, Cinda-Sue Davis, George Myers III, Jackie Simpson, Kate Van Valkenburgh, Evans Young, Pam Fowler, Dorothy McLeer, Megan Piersma, Marlys Deen, Derrick Scott (honorable mention) and Andrace Deyampert (honorable mention).

Team awardees are: Women of Color Task Force, Health Occupations Partners in Education (HOPE), faculty and staff of the Kresge Hearing Research Institute, Deborah Goldberg and the Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Frontiers Masters Program Team, Division of Student Affairs — Workgroup for One Division, Office of Financial Aid Outreach (honorable mention), and Ypsilanti Health Center (honorable mention).

A call for nominations for the 2009 Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award will be made in early summer.