Dr. James Ferrara, director of the Comprehensive Cancer Center's Blood and Marrow Transplant Program and professor in the departments of pediatrics and internal medicine at the Medical School, recently received an honorary Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of Regensburg in Germany, for his work toward establishing one of the few competence centers in Europe at the university. He also has received The Hartwell Foundation's Individual Biomedical Research Award for his project A Bioenergetic Strategy to Treat Graft vs. Host Disease. The Hartwell Award offers $100,000 per year for three years.

Norbert Schwarz, Charles Horton Cooley Collegiate Professor in the Department of Psychology, professor in the Stephen M. Ross School of Business, and research professor, is the winner of the 2009 Wilhelm Wundt-William James Award to be presented in July in Oslo, Norway, by the American Psychological Foundation and the European Federation of Psychologists’ Associations. Schwarz’s scientific career spans diverse research areas and has involved continuous collaboration that has bridged the Atlantic. He has published 18 books, some translated into several languages, and more than 150 peer-reviewed articles.

Dr. Richard Neubig, professor of pharmacology at the Medical School and co-director of the Center for Chemical Genomics, is a recipient of the 2009 American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Astellas Award in Translational Pharmacology. The award recognizes pharmacological research accomplishments. Neubig is recognized nationally and internationally as a leading authority on regulators of G protein signaling proteins.

John Tesmer, research associate professor, Life Sciences Institute, and associate professor of pharmacology, Medical School, has received the 2009 American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics-John J. Abel Award in Pharmacology. The award is given to one young investigator for original, outstanding research contributions in the field of pharmacology. The society honored Tesmer for increasing the understanding of a key cellular signaling cascade that involves G protein-coupled receptors.


Steven Donn, professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, Medical School, has been appointed to the Working Group on Pediatric Mass Critical Care, Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion. This group is charged with developing a plan for a pandemic flu disaster affecting pediatric patients. Donn is an expert in mechanical ventilation and medico-legal pediatrics. He also was appointed to the International Advisory Board of the Journal of Perinatology, the editorial board of the journal of the National Neonatal Forum of India, for his eminence in neonatology.