Dr. Eva Feldman, director of the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute and Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology at the Medical School, is president-elect of the American Neurological Association, a professional society of academic neurologists and neuroscientists. She will become president in two years. The association educates physicians in the neurosciences and works to better understand and treat nervous system diseases. Feldman, who directs the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Center, was named president-elect at the association's annual meeting Oct. 11-14 in Baltimore.


Richard Rabeler, assistant research scientist, University Herbarium, served as one of two lead editors on the recently published Volume 8 of the "Flora of North America." Published by Oxford University Press, this is the 15th of the projected 30 volumes from the collaborative effort by botanists.