News Briefs
Five U-M students win Hopwood, Rapaport awards

Five U-M students split $4,250 in prizes through the summer Avery and Jule Hopwood Awards in Creative Writing and the Marjorie Rapaport Award in Poetry.

The awards are among the nation's oldest contests for student writers, supported by a bequest from Avery Hopwood, a 1905 U-M alumnus and successful Broadway playwright, and Jule Hopwood, his mother.

The winners are:

Alice Rice of West Bloomfield, Summer Hopwood Poetry, $1,000.

Helen Lee of Warren, Summer Hopwood Nonfiction, $750.

David Buccilli of Clare, Summer Hopwood Nonfiction, $750.

Spencer Kimball of Ann Arbor, double winner, Summer Hopwood Nonfiction, $750 and Marjorie Rapaport Award in Poetry, $400.

Kellen Braddock of New York, Marjorie Rapaport Award in Poetry, $600.

For more information, go to